We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Lincklaen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lincklaen House
Ranked #3 of 6 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Lincklaen House when we were visiting from out of state for my sisters wedding. We stayed in one of the suites and it was honestly like a small apartment. The bedroom wasn't separated by a door but it was off to the side so we were able to put our son (in a pack n' play) and daughter (on a cot) to bed and then watch TV. It was great to have a micro, fridge, sink & table too. The bathroom was very large with a wonderful jetted tub and stand alone shower. The price we paid was very low compared to what we got. Staff was VERY polite & always helpful. Having Seven Stone Steps was great for take out and the Sunday Brunch can't be beat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savysmom1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed overnight with a "Winter Getaway Package" which included dinner, wine, overnight in the hotel and the continental breakfast. The hotel is old with beautiful architecture. The restaurant upstairs is lovely - warm fireplace, beautiful table setting, good food and a sweet and attentive waitress. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast - not a ton of choices, but enough, especially since we were still stuffed from the night before. We peeked at the offerings of the breakfast buffet and we will return for that- looked fabulous! As for our room... the room was decorated traditional and classy. If you are a light sleeper I would ask to NOT be facing the street as the snowplow and people on the sidewalk woke me up constantly. The bathrooms are adequate but not special. The one BIG turnoff was that when we pulled back the sheets there was LOTS of hair on the pillow, under the pillow and on the edge of the bed. It was so gross. The front desk girl quickly came up and changed the sheets and agreed it was disgusting and she apologized. It made us wonder just how clean the bathroom was since the bed linens were obviously ignored. We haven't been out alone in 8 years and we're fairly easy going so we grinned and beared it and had a great time. It was unacceptable though. So, I would still recommend this hotel and restaurant, but before you wnat to jump in bed I'd check the linens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaltimoreBigmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We traveled to Cazenovia for a birthday weekend and decided to stay at Lincklaen House for a nice winter getaway. The Lincklaen is a very charming old hotel that has been around since 1836. It has a lot of character with period furnishings. The suites are charming not luxurious but all amenities neccesary.The feel of old charm. Beds are comfortable. The dining room is lovely with a fireplace and fresh flowers on all of the tables(in winter). The menu is small(fine dining) but the pub menu is extensive and can be served in the dining room or downstairs pub. The true highlight was the brunch on Sunday morning. Very nice brunch for a reasonable $12.95. Lots of fresh fruit, omelets to order, very nice pastries and baked goodies, waffles, bacon, sausage etc. Great quality. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Get a suite. Thought the back suite would be quieter but the plow came by and it was quite loud othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DragonflyArtist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Old time feal with comfort, great food, and incredible customer service. We were there for a guys night out. The bar stayed open 2 hours later than normal to accomodate our needs. The management was incredibly friendly and went way above and beyond to meet our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soxfan73179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed one night at the LH. THis was our the second visit. If you like to travel back in time, to an earlier era, when quality really prevailed, this is the place for you. Room was comfortable and had all the necessities, but without the modern motel/hotel feeling. Very Victorian, including a four-poster bed that was huge - and comfortable. Warning: there is no elevator (and we were on the 3rd floor!). But that didn't matter. Also there are no electronic keycards; old time keys are used. The front desk personnel are very friendly and didn't even ask for a credit card number upon making the reservation. With two dining areas and glowing fireplaces in each, drinking and eating were heavenly. The "Seven Stones Steps" - downstairs tavern and eating area - is rathskeller-like and atmospheric. The first floor dining is a bit more formal, but informal at the same time. This is more an "Inn" than a hotel, and we found it charming, and a welcome break from our fast-paced world.

Room Tip: Due to there being no elevator, you may want to request a lower floor if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curveball14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Lincklaen House is simply an outstanding establishment. The rooms are clean, and spacious with a Victorian flare and outfitted with all modern amenities ( cable tv, wifi etc) to ad to your comfort. The food and drinks are always top notch and served up by a friendly attentive staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After visiting many reception sites, my now husband and I realized that we found the right place to host our wedding as soon as we walked into LH. We wanted to get away from the big hotel ballroom feel and Lincklaen offered the perfect alternative, with beautifully decorated rooms and classic elegance. Our guests are still raving about the wedding, saying they loved how personal and intimate the wedding felt. The food was absolutely delicious and Carrie even started a fire during the reception for guests who were relaxing in the sitting area. We are so happy that we get to come back to LH next September 7th for our anniversary.

We have spent several nights at Lincklaen in different rooms and each one is unique and comfortable. The staff always exceed our expectations, going above and beyond each time we stop by for dinner or spend the night, and they were all absolutely amazing during our wedding weekend. It was so nice to come down the morning after our wedding and see that they had put our centerpieces in the breakfast room so that we could enjoy them for one more meal. It is absolutely clear that the staff love their jobs and love what they do and we can't say enough nice things about them.

Room Tip: Each room is different and has something to offer but the staff are really helpful in assisting you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
10.8 mi away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
188 reviews
18.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
19.0 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brewster Inn
The Brewster Inn
#4 of 6 in Cazenovia
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincklaen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincklaen House

Address: 79 Albany St, PO Box 329, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range: $108 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincklaen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Lodging | Costello Wing For over 170 years the Lincklaen House has represented colonial charm. Notice the detail in each of the original rooms. They are all unique and alive with history. Go back in time and still enjoy the modern conveniences of this Grand Hotel. Staying longer than a night or two? Our Costello Wing offers classically designed suites with all of the luxuries of home...And then some. We serve a complimentary continental breakfast for our room guests every morning. We are a pet-friendly hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Lincklaen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincklaen House Hotel Cazenovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing