We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Full Effect"”
Review of Brae Loch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brae Loch Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the complementary snifter of scotch upon check-in to the warm and genuine conversation from Jim, the owner, making sure your stay was enjoyable upon departure, the Brae Loch Inn is a wonderful experience from entrance to exit. The 1805 era inn is a sensory overload to we patrons who marvel at old woodwork, antiques, furniture, paintings, pictures, etc... The rooms are spacious and romantic, with ours featuring a fireplace adding a charming warm ambiance. Oh, and the food - outstanding! Watching the cooks prepare our meal from our table was quite entertaining. After dinner leisure time in the charm of the downstairs, with modern Scottish music, darts, billiards, board games, big screen TV - you choose, adding to the experience. Cazenovia is a charming village, with the Brae Lock Inn its crown jewel. For us this was certainly "the full effect!"

Room Tip: Check out your room on-line.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msalotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Brae Loch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 253 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a really impressive place with a superb kitchen that does all the right things! This is a family affair that cares about the quality of the product. I first visited the Brae Loch while I was a student at Syracuse University in the 1960s. It's aged well over time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Phenomenal food! The food was delicious and the portions were very large. The big comfortable bed made for the best night's sleep we've ever had in a hotel. The cozy, quiet atmosphere and friendly staff made our stay so enjoyable. It was an awesome overnight get away that really let us escape from the real world and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Both feeling stressed and hadn't been away since October (Mom lives w/us) my husband and I got away for an overnight and returned to the Brae Loch Inn. We felt so warmly welcomed and appreciated. They know there are many other places to stay, and truly value your patronage. We stayed in our favorite room, Mary Queen of Scots (#12), with the lovely window seat and wood-burning fireplaceand couldn't have been happier ... except if we'd had another couple of nights! The food is always well prepared and delicious, and the cozy bar area and several different rooms/nooks make for a very private feel. Smiles abound, and we'll continue to think of the Brae Loch as our home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyJean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Brae Loch many times and we love it. The check in process was wonderful..including the complementary snifter of scotch. Our rooms have always been clean and comfortable. We particularly like the restaurant and bar in the basement. It is a great place to spend the evening and the food has always been top notch. All the kilts help add to the enjoyment of the Scottish flavor.

The location is great. We have walked around the area and there are some very fine shops near the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I spent our second year in a row here. It is a very warm and relaxing atmosphere. The employees are exceptionally friendly. Our room was great, and the dining experience was awesome! We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Have only had a fireplace. Would highly recommend it. Very cozy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Brae Loch was a wonderful experience. The Inn is very beautiful, very comfortable and inviting. The Inn is very clean and has a very friendly staff. The dining experience was great and many locals that visit the restaurant are friendly and inviting. I look forward to visiting again in the spring and will highly recommend The Brae Loch to family, friends and business associates! Can't wait to visit again!!!!! Thank you for making my business stay a very positive one!

Room Tip: All rooms are very charming and comfortable!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
10.5 mi away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
187 reviews
18.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.2 mi away
The Brewster Inn
The Brewster Inn
#4 of 6 in Cazenovia
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincklaen House
Lincklaen House
#3 of 6 in Cazenovia
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Loch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Loch Inn

Address: 5 Albany St, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range: $127 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brae Loch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Brae Loch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brae Loch Hotel Cazenovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing