We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Visit”

The Brewster Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Cazenovia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We dine at the Brewster Inn 2 or 3 times a year. Generally we have a wonderful experience. This time I was disappointed with my old standby - Veal Atlantis. There definitely was a difference in the veal - both the preparation and the flavor - definitely not as good. My husband had the rack of lamb and the flavor was overpowered by the marinade.
On a high note - our waitress, Kelsey, was very good - attentive without being intrusive. She was very apologetic about our disappointment - of course, not her fault. The asiago salad basket with roasted asparagus was excellent. We shared a slice of Key lime pie - also excellent. We'll definitely be back but I probably will skip the Veal Atlantis.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenT7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Brewster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This magnificent restaurant / inn sits on the shore of Cazenovia Lake. The view is out of a picture book and the food is excellent. In late spring, summer and fall you can sit on the back stone patio , heaters are provided if it is a chilly evening, and listen to the sounds of the lake. Service is always good. Inside sit and enjoy the bistro where the atmosphere is a little more casual than the main dining room . The menu and award winning wine list are always fabulous! On Sundays come in for the buffett which guarnatees that you will never go home hungry and is delicious.!
Afterwards go in and visit the gift shop, which has unique gifts to take home as a pleasant reminder of your visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank widowmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“WOW once again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had brunch today at The Brewster Inn--one of our first of the season! And it was as FABULOUS as I remember from last fall!!
From delicious pasta salad with fresh asparagus, a delightful barley and sweet potato dish, to the most amazing salmon and grilled tenderloin, on to French toast with fresh whipped cream, to polenta with wild mushroom ragu, not to even mention the eggs Benedict!! I wanted to keep eating all morning!! And Kirk was so kind as to create a dessert sampler for me, so I was able to have a taste of many of the excellent desserts, the key lime pie and flourless chocolate cake tying for first place!!
What an absolutely wonderful dining experience! From start to finish, all was flawless!
I do not believe you can find a better brunch anywhere!!!
We will be back soon!
Thanks to all of the creative and talented chefs, and staff, at the Inn!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An evening on the lake...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Brewster Inn is our favorite restaurant in Cazenovia. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is so relaxing. We appreciate the excellent service, too. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Cold winter evening, wonderful meal. The filet was perfect. My wife's swordfish was perfect as well. House cabernet and sauvignon blanc. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewster Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Brewster Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing