We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the customer Service”
Review of The Brewster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brewster Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed here times and each time are very pleased. We arrived after 9 and went to the bar for a cocktail. Staff were very welcoming and even provided me a sample of a cocktail to try. I will say that it would have been nice if they mentioned the cost of a scotch my husband had as an FYI. Had he known there is no way he would have gotten it.
Flexible with breakfast offerings if you ask for a little something more than the continental offerings.
Room 5 is small especially the bathroom which is known ahead but the price is reflecting that. Fine for one night, but might upgrade to one of the others next time
Price is very reasonable. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVANH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for The Brewster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I really enjoyed the Brewster Inn. I took a weekend road trip with my dad and we decided to stay at the Brewster. It's very convenient to downtown Cazenovia. It's located right on Lake Cazenovia and the views are wonderful. The staff proved to be very helpful and accommodating. Our room was in the Carriage House. The carpeting/furniture in our room could have used a sprucing up, but it was very charming and cozy nonetheless. Dad and I enjoyed a glass of wine on the patio overlooking the lake. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful. A nice continental breakfast was provided each day. I would definitely return the next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinbluesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a beautiful old inn located on a large piece of property right on the lake.We selected room #2 based on a description on their website (which has since changed). The bedroom is quite large and connects to a sitting room by walking through the bathroom (strange at best). There was a fireplace but there were no apparent means of starting it. The room was described as having a balcony. The balcony turned out of to be simply the roof of the restaurant one floor down. There was no chairs on which to sit on the balcony. If I were to visit again I would choose room 7 which has a deck with outdoor furniture. Our room was VERY quiet but perhaps because we needed neither heat nor a/c. Be aware that room #2 has a large a/c unit right outside the bedroom which appears to serve the restaurant below. In room a/c was an in-window a/c unit which typically are noisy.

The continental breakfast was minimal at best. Bagels, english muffins, a couple of non-descript muffins, some fruit and some cold cuts. None of it appealed to us but perhaps to others.

We'd stay again. Would get room 7 instead and would get breakfast elsewhere. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On a recent drive through central New York State, I passed the Brewster Inn and took a quick peak from my car window. Wow! My wife is going to like this place. The town of Cazenovia was charming and the countryside was rolling farmland.
We booked the room and our first night was in the Carriage House. We intended to stay only one night but were so taken with the place we asked for another night. Yes, but we had to move into the main building. No problem. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and clean. We had a great view of Cazenovia Lake. The lawn is a great place for reading or dreaming.
The restaurant is excellent. When the weather allows, you have the option to dine outdoors. We found The Brewster Inn well worth the visit. Great staff and reasonable rates. Along with the view, what more could one want?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August for vacation.

The primary reason to stay here is the restaurant that is top notch and may well have one of the best wine lists in the world that is also reasonably priced. So, dine here and don't drive. More on the restaurant in my restaurant review.

We stayed in Room 4 on the second floor of the Inn. Little seems to have changed since when the place was built, for better and worse. The room is large with big windows that look out onto Lake Cazenovia and has lots of 1900's charm, largely because the room has changed little since then. The bathroom is original and large. Updated is a fancy shower and fixtures in the bath, a few power outlets, electric heat and an air conditioner. I think there is wi-fi. The room, however, is poorly lit and lacks enough seating to take advantage of the size and no lamps near the seating make it hard to read. One quarter of the room is swallowed up by a jacuzzi which we didn't use. The paint is peeling in parts, but in a way that adds patina and doesn't simply look worn. Lots of orignal built in storage in the closet and bathroom. The bed is not comfortable. Overall, the room needs a paint job, more power outlets, lighting, seating and a better bed and that is reflected in my rating. We didn't ask, but we didn't see anyone to carry our bags up the stairs.

I don't think there is any room service, but when we were in the Tavern, we had a botle of wine sent up to the room. Breakfast is serve your self continental style and is several cuts above the Hampton Inn sort.

Room Tip: Book far in advance so you have a choice of rooms. Look at the web site that describes the rooms an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our huge room was a major disappointment. With an enormous, who-wants-it, spa tub sitting in the middle of it, we were shocked when we opened the door. The room looked as though it hadn't been touched in years. The bathroom, which did have good water pressure, was similarly large but tired, provided the kicker-moment. I opened a drawer and found a toilet plunger rolling around inside. During the day, before the air conditioning really started to do its job, the entrance to the restaurant was also funky-smelling.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Brewster to get out if the summer heat in Fl. The room was huge and quaint and the bathroom while small was renovated and new.The room was huge and quite comfortable. We enjoyed the friendly and efficient staff.The food was excellent. The lake is crystal clean and the lawn and terrace to the lake provided spectacular views.
It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway

Thank samjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
10.6 mi away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
15.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
0.2 mi away
Brae Loch Inn
Brae Loch Inn
#1 of 6 in Cazenovia
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 6 Ledyard Ave, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1209
Location: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range: $136 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brewster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only hotel on Cazenovia Lake, The Brewster Inn is a historic mansion, built in 1890 as the summer home of Standard Oil Financier, Benjamin Brewster. Overnight guests choose from rooms in either the main house or the adjacent carriage house, many rooms of which were renovated in 2015. All rooms and suites have private baths, television, and HVAC. Some rooms even feature jacuzzis, fireplaces, sun porches, private decks and lakeviews. The inn also offers a DiRona Award Winning Restaurant and a Wine Spectator Awarded wine cellar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Hotel Cazenovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing