We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brewster Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cazenovia Motel(Cazenovia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Craftsman Inn(Fayetteville)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(DeWitt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Syracuse)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (131)
    Filter reviews
    131 results
    Traveler rating
    58
    35
    18
    6
    14
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    58
    35
    18
    6
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscarriage housecazenovia lakeview of the lakeescargotoriginal housegreat cocktailsservice was top notchwill return again and againthe bar dining areaearly eveningcup of coffeeno elevatorlarge roomwarmer monthsnew year's evean appetizerbagels
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    90 - 95 of 131 reviews
    Reviewed November 19, 2012

    we spent a night with a king size bed, huge jacuzzi and gas fireplace that faced the lake. beautiful, old historic place. thursday was bring your own wine so we did and had a first class meal. the food was really good and a lot of variety. the free continental breakfast was generous and fresh. the staff were a delight. we will go back.

    Room Tip: # 4 was great
    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 544Pat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 18, 2012

    Went here with group of friends and our dinner was excellent. I ordered scallops and I would trade fhat dish for the scampi or rib orders others got. Mine was ok but those were outstanding. I just lived the old school charm and beauty. We hope to try it next summer for drinks and tavern meals on the lake for our anniversary next year.

    Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    Thank teachersms
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 22, 2012

    The back view of the lake is so pretty! i love the furnaces they have to keep you warm. Service was friendly , but not very good. We had better service from a waitress that was not even our waitress! haha
    My husband's steak was supposed to be med. When it was serves it was pretty raw. We never did see our waitress to send it back .. finally another waitress saw our plight... needless to say we couldn't eat together , it forever for us to get my dhs steak back and even then it was still med. rare. My scampi was delicious .. but such a miniscule portion.. For the price I would have expected better food, portion and better service.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank joy8486
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 20, 2012

    I attended a meeting held at the Brewster and needed to stay overnight. The accomodations in the Carriage House were first rate, for a B&B. All the ammenities expected - including wifi. The main hose was updated as appropriate and readily matched the newer extension (dining room and bar).

    The dinner was extremely well done and the service was top notch, especially since the dinner was outside on the back lawn. All ordered off the menu (meaning 20 different appitizers, dinners and deserts). The steaks were prepare to the liking of the diner and fish dishes were very pleasing.

    The bar stayed open well past the end of dinner - a group staying at the hotel kept talking to close to midnight. The manager and bar manager were happy to discuss the history of the house and Mr. Brewster (including the association with the founding of the Standard Oil Corp. - check out the stock certificates on the dining room wall and their estimated current value).

    Breakfast and lunch were simple and filling buffets.

    The meeting went well and there was very little interaction with the others at the Inn.

    I would definately bring the wife back for a long weekend.

    • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Harold M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 20, 2012

    Standard Oil financier Benjamin Brewster knew how to pick 'em when he chose this site for his summer home in 1890. Situated on Cazenovia Lake, The Brewster Inn is on a wooded grounds situated on the shore of beautiful Cazenovia Lake The interior is gracious and elegant without being stuffy. Our room was nicely decorated in keeping with the antique-y feel of the inn and had a wonderful tiled and marbled bathroom. The staff was sincerely welcoming and friendly. A continental breakfast was complimentary with the room. Rates are reasonable, even at peak season. The village of Cazenovia is within a very easy walk from the Inn. This was our second trip to The Brewster and we highly recommend it.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Annemarie F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews