We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a GEM of a find!!!”
Review of The Brewster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brewster Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Everything from the hotel to the restaurant could not have been better. Staff was more than accomodating and wonderful. A must go to, it'll be worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111sandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for The Brewster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

The inn is located at the southern end of Cazenovia Lake. The main building houses the restaurant, front desk, reception lounge, gift and incidentals shop and a number of rooms on the second and third floors. It is not an attractive structure. I would describe it as a three floor big box with a port cochère attached to the road side of the structure. There is a second building of guest rooms which is referred to as the carriage house. A large lawn stretches to the lakefront which is the location of a small marina. The lakeside setting is very pleasant.
The room was located in the carriage house and cost $182.20 inclusive of taxes. It was relatively large and furnished with queen bed, a night stand and lamp on each side, an armoire with flat panel TV, and a table and chair. There was also a couch with an end table and lamp. A whirlpool tub was located in the corner of the sleeping area. One has the impression there was an empty corner so someone decided to fill it with a tub. The room décor was a bold floral pattern wallpaper. It could keep you up at night. The bathroom fixtures included a shower over tub and a single basin vanity.
The restaurant is on the first floor and overlooks the lake. There is also a patio for al fresco dining. The restaurant is very popular with the locals and the meal was nicely prepared. A cocktail, appetizer and entrée were $70.32 inclusive of tax and gratuity.
The Brewster Inn is marginal. Unfortunately, Cazenovia does not have many alternatives.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had an excellent gourmet meal in the dining room. Being that I dine out in the NYC Metro area often, I'm picky and I thought this was very good. Nice menu with many options. Our table had a view of the lake. The service was very good. I hear their Sunday brunch is a real treat. Hope to return soon to try it. Beautiful country drive from Syracuse. Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Make a reservation and arrive early to get the best table. They seem to seat first come first serve...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Brewster Inn is on Cazenovia Lake in Cazenovia NY. The food is stellar - truly delicious and fresh with excellent wines and friendly wait staff. We stayed in the three-room suite which was huge with amazing views. The suite is tired and shabby - as mentioned, it's huge. The bathroom is very large, with a pool-sized Jacuzzi in front of a picture window with views of the lake - but the Jacuzzi is from the '70's or '80's, with broken, rusted parts, and the decor is less than inspiring (a plastic ficus?). However, a family of four could easily stay in the suite (two pull out sofa beds) and the price was very reasonable. Everything was clean and comfortable. If food matters to you, and you aren't concerned with a fancy room (or planning on spending too much time in it), it's a nice place to stay and an improvement on various chain hotels and motels.

Room Tip: Rooms are described individually on the website, so you can choose exactly which room you want (one...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here for a small family gathering in August. What a lovely place this is! I'd stay here again and again and again. My room was fabulous -- well appointed, new bathroom, quiet, elegant. Ahhh. My cousins and I ate one of the best meals of my life, with wonderful wine, in a quiet, gracious dining room with a great view of the lake. We also sat outside in the afternoon watching sailboats and having sodas. The Inn is just a short walk to the main street of ever-so-quaint Cazenovia, too. I highly recommend the Brewster Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karengduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham1, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We look forward to having you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

first let me tell you about the whining front desk people .....did not care to hear her life story ..blah blah ,blah ,no food ,,,,,
room was very pricey for the quality .
not all jets work on Jacuzzi, sad ,then it kept biting ,sucking in my leg .ouch ....not fun .not running correctly .then the tv was very small but even on full blast you could not hear it on the bed .that was crazy ,could not enjoy myself .so ,we took a walk by the lake and were told the seats would be wet .if that was my bb ,would you offer a towel so your guest could seat outside ,no ,not friendly ,so we tried to go into this little gazebo ,tiny not little .it was infested by spiders ..yuck ,yuck ,do you never go down there to see ,it is covered in webs ,eggs large spiders b.I read a bunch of other reviews,not good ,believe them .the continental breakfast was a big joke .coffee sucked .crazy dirty breakfast cereal containers ,old pastries ,wait some old looking fruit .what was worth 20 dollars here .the lady stated it was a 20 breakfast .lies ....was there a postive note .yes ,a pretty lake .learn some guest relations .this was very expensive for nothing great

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorik48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham1, Public Relations Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Hi,

So sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. Is there anything we can do to rectify the situation?

Thanks,
Caitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I lived in the area years ago and always wanted to stay at The Brewster Inn. Upon arrival as we stepped out of the car all we could smell was garbage. The dumpster is located near the front entrance of the hotel and near the Carriage House. It was pungent. Maybe my expectations were too high. On the positive side, the room rate was very reasonable. We stayed in the Carriage House in room 124. The room was cavelike with a very noisy air conditioner. The hotel website states the Carriage House is newly renovated, but It did not look it. The bed sheets were worn and gray, the towels smelled musty and the curtain tiebacks were torn. The room was clean, but shabby. The saving grace for this old hotel is the view of Cazenovia Lake which is breath taking if you can tolerate the stench of garbage.

Room Tip: Request a room in the hotel overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
10.6 mi away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
15.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
0.2 mi away
Brae Loch Inn
Brae Loch Inn
#1 of 6 in Cazenovia
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 6 Ledyard Ave, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1209
Location: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range: $136 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brewster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only hotel on Cazenovia Lake, The Brewster Inn is a historic mansion, built in 1890 as the summer home of Standard Oil Financier, Benjamin Brewster. Overnight guests choose from rooms in either the main house or the adjacent carriage house, many rooms of which were renovated in 2015. All rooms and suites have private baths, television, and HVAC. Some rooms even feature jacuzzis, fireplaces, sun porches, private decks and lakeviews. The inn also offers a DiRona Award Winning Restaurant and a Wine Spectator Awarded wine cellar on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Hotel Cazenovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing