We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Catskill
Certificate of Excellence
upstate NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family reunion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

My family held a reunion at Pollaces Aug 5 - 8th. We had a wonderful stay. You should know that the rooms are very old. The air conditioning worked perfectly. Rooms were cleaned daily.
Food - DELICIOUS and plentiful. You won't ever be hungry. Italian pastries are made on the premises. Waitress and busers are extremely helpful and great with the kids!
Activities: - try them all! My 14 year old daughter loved participating, as well as my two year old son. 16 year old son wasn't so keen on the trip.
There is a WalMart in walking distance. Get cold drinks to have during the day and keep in your fridge. Need cash with you for tips envelopes on last day. We weren't crazy about the coffee so my husband walked to Dunkin Donuts each morning.
Bring a travel clock.
You can dress casual. Other guests are very friendly. Owner is wonderful - he wants to help make your stay special
If you have any questions, feel free to ask me. I only stayed there once - almost everybody we met there were repeat visitors.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — age of rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathteacher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

My family has been going to Pollace's for over twenty years and we love it. It's a time where our family can really bond and Pollace's provides great activites to engage in. The staff is very friendly and they're there to help in anyway. It's more enjoyable with a big group. Over the years we have found a group that we've been coming up with and that makes it more of an enjoyable event. The social director is the best, he's a very friendly, amusing man and who ever bad mouths this place is out of their mind.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank xbrooklynoxbabeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

We stayed at Pollace's the first week of August, 2006. It was a wonderful experience for all. We were 12 adults and 13 children in our group. It had something for everyone. The accomodations were clean and comfortable, the food was excellent. It was prepared with the touch of real "home-cooked" italian-american tradition and in abundance. Serving the needs of young and "not so young". The owners and their staff really cater to the needs of all guests and succeed in all aspects. One can relax or get involved in the many daily activities. It has a large pool, a game room, nightly entertainment in which the guests can participate if they like. They had field day games for children of all ages. We created memories which we hope will last for years to come. We booked for Summer '07! Bringing additional guests with us! Great time, great place.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — a bit small
  • Tips/Secrets — they have large accomodations
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank geestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

We just finished a three day Columbus weekend family gathering at Pollace's. There were 22 of us, 11 adults and 11 kids. Things could not have gone better. Although the decor is dated, the rooms are all clean and comfortable. The service is excellent and the food is excellent. I strongly disagree with the "greedy snobs" review. Pollace's is a great value, with plenty of great food and clean comfortable rooms at very reasonable prices. For the record, we did not know the owners. But we got to know them during our stay. Pollace's is family owned and operated and they treat guests like family. Everyone at Pollace's was completely friendly and upbeat in response to any need or request we had during our stay. Pollace's is unpretentious and relaxed. The social director, Richard, is a great guy and offered plenty of fun activities for all ages, everything from roller skating and farmers markets, to fresh corn on the barbecue and homemade beer from a 16th century recipe. Guests can do as much or as little as they choose. The cocktail lounge offered entertainment at night, eg. music and comedians, and there was a halloween costume parade for the kids. I literally cannot think of a better place anywhere to take children and have family gatherings. The weekend reminded me of the way America used to be and the way America should be; food, friends, and family in beautiful and peaceful surroundings. From the youngest to the oldest of our group of 22, we all had a great time. Did I mention the food? Wow! We look forward to future visits. To the owners and staff of Pollace's - keep on doing what you're doing - it's a tremendous amount of work for you guys but you are making memories for many families that will last a lifetime. Thanks for having us!!!

  • Liked — The positive attitudes of the owners and staff, as well as great food and family style dining
  • Disliked — you could hear guests in adjoining rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — don't get caught up in the fact that the decor is dated; this is not the four seasons; it is a comfortable and friendly place to take a break from your work-a-day workworld
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank happydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicopee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

Hotel offers meals to vacationers only. If you plan to stay just 1 or 2 nites you just don't fit in. They don't tell you that the dinners are not for you. We were so embarrassed when we went for the meal and found out it wasn't for us, but only thier snobby friends who all seemed to know each other. They are only for thier snobby friends that have been going there for generations. When we found out that we had to pay $48 for a lousy buffet for 2 adults and 1 child... who had to wait over 1 hour for his meal we were discusted to say the least. We were thier hotel guests, they didn't seem to want new customers. Our family doesn't recommend this hotel if you do not know the owners. We truly wish we could turn back time and erase these people from our short vacation to the Catskills!

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Rude, greedy owners
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here unless you know the owners
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank pachigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2006

Pollace's Resort is an excellent value for the money. While it certainly isn't Disney or even the shore, people of all ages can have an enjoyable stay there. There are both families and senior citizens. Probably young singles would be bored after a couple of days. The resort is family owned and guests really have a sense of the warm hospitatlity. The social director is terrific and attempts to plan activities for all sorts of interests. In addition, local excursions are often arranged to local points of interest. Guests ride the "Pollace trolley" or van to browse in flea markets, take boat rides, go bowling, etc. Pollace's is a very clean resort and the grounds are spacious and well groomed. Accommodations range from average/basic to updated and are well maintained. Three meals a day are included and food is certainly abundant. Stick to the homemade Italian specialities and enjoy the features of the salad bar for best bets. Families with lively children will feel right at home in the noisy, but cheerful dining room. There is a variety of nighttime entertainment: magicians, comedians, live bands, "game shows" that feature the guests, talent shows, etc. Pollace's does have a pretty good sized pool which crystal clear water -- but it isn't heated!! My kids really had a good time at this resort. After about four days, though we had had enough and were ready for the ocean once again. However, there is something very inviting about Pollace's and we will probably go back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank We'reReady!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
17.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.1 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.5 mi away
B&B Lounge of Catskill
B&B Lounge of Catskill
#3 of 9 in Catskill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollace's Family Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollace's Family Vacation Resort

Property: Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Address: 71 Landon Ave, Catskill, NY 12414-2049
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pollace's Family Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us and be part of a great all-inclusive family vacation that is safe fun and affordable. Experience a traditional Catskill Mt. Vacation mid June to Labor Day and Columbus Day Weekend. We have planned activities and entertainment to fill your days and nights.We now offer Gluten Free options for all meals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pollace's Family Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollace`s Family Vacation Hotel Catskill
Pollaces Family Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing