We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, the food is quite good”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wasana's Thai Gift Shop
Ranked #21 of 50 Restaurants in Catskill
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes, the food is quite good”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Don't be fooled by the lack of decor, the food is actually very good. We've been trying to get the owners to redecorate, but they like it the way it is.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love me some Thai food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

love the flavors of Thai food, best I have ever had, yummy , I have tried many of the Thai dishes and love them all, still cant come up with just one favorite dish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank diahann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Food --- forget the decor”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

a recent weekday found us for a very enjoyable lunch at Wasana's. Great Thai food --- and we have been in Thailand a few times ---- . The spicing just right, a bit of heat but nothing that makes you inhale fire for the next 30 minutes. The host / owner couple was very pleasant while we were the only guests sitting down and eating our big lunch (yes the portions are big), with utter content. A welcome change in the upstate land of pizza and hot dogs. Now the often commented decor, yes it is pretty dreadful. Definetly not for a first romantic date night but if you want to travel vicariously to a third world place you got it, authentic food served friendly in a dim environment. We will be back. Please note: Closed Wednesdays.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peakclimber46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic thai cuisine”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very good thai dishes at a good value. The tofu triangles are amazing! The only thing that bugs me is the atmosphere. It needs a really good cleaning and some kind of decorating. I would recommend taking the food out rather than risking losing your appetite for it by staying!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagiLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Went planning on eating in the restaurant but ordered takeout instead. The restaurant could use an update inside and an air freshener. The food was okay, but nothing special. Would not order again. Probably would have been worth the trip to Hudson for something else.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasana's Thai Gift Shop also viewed

Catskill, Catskill Region
Catskill, Catskill Region
 
Catskill, Catskill Region
Catskill, Catskill Region
 
Catskill, Catskill Region
 

Been to Wasana's Thai Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing