We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ride”

Bailiwick Animal Park
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My son and I went on an hour long ride with Justin. What a very pleasant young man. He was very knowledgeable about the area we were riding through and had helpful suggestions for my son with Asperger's to increase his comfort with the ride. Also Justin had some suggestions about places to eat in the area which was helpful as we went after Labor day and a lot of establishments were closed. Regarding the zoo, not my favorite but I believe it would be perfect for a family with small children. It is quite small but cute

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank melsmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    6
    5
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot for family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good horseback riding friendly guides gentle well behaved horses. Cool small zoo, not fancy but an authentic family run Catskills attraction. Fun for all ages of children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rvrvwmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A group of us stopped in on our annual vacation and Gary and his family were so warm and friendly it was a pleasant surprise, the work they have done to make these beautiful animals safe and happy is unprecedented....Merlin, Titan, Ruby, and all the others are so amazing. Bring the kids bring your friends.... just go! is what I have to say, you must experience it. I would like to go back and horseback ride as well, we didn't allow enough time for that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wnbgraphicgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small family business, worth a trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Bailiwick might not look like much at first, but don't let that fool you. This place is not showy or glamorous like a regular zoo. Instead, Bailiwick ranch and zoo is full of a small selection of animals who are fortunate to have a safe home, taken care of by a hardworking and caring family. We were greeted by a friendly pot bellied pig who followed us around on our walk, and even sat with us when it started raining. The animals are obviously well cared for and live a happy life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to go!!! Horseback riding and a nice zoo!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The ride was nice, very scenic, and very friendly trail guides! Well taken care of and well behaved horses. Also a very nice little zoo, you can tell that they love and take care of their animals. Titan the bengal tiger was awesome!! Be sure to check this out!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Horselover189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailiwick Animal Park also viewed

Catskill, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Catskill, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bailiwick Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing