We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, thoughtful B&B experience!”
Review of The Post Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Gil and Maryann are fantastic hosts - accommodating, welcoming, smart, generous - and generally unobtrusive, which I care about a lot. This place has it all - Jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces (in most rooms, I think, but check - it made the winter trip!), beautiful interior and property, a daily choice of gourmet breakfasts, roaring fires in the public areas, a pool table, games, etc etc. On top of all this, they offer cocktails and (substantial) snacks around 530pm, and port and dessert around 9. We got lucky with our group (there were 8 guests), but even if we hadn't, the rooms are lovely oases if the group hangs are not your thing. Beds are tempurpedic, jacuzzi tub (we were in West room) fits one, rooms are nicely furnished. There are also 2 (nonallergenic) bonus bunnies who visit the common rooms on occasion, whom I enjoyed harassing. Close to some great hiking (North and South Mountains) and 10 minutes from Hudson.

Room Tip: we loved West - worth the extra $ for both the gas fireplace and the jacuzzi tub, perfect for a wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berkitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Everything about our stay at the Post Cottage was wonderful. Gil and Maryann were the perfect hosts. Our room's jacuzzi bath and gas fireplace were pure bliss after a day of skiing. Also loved the pool table, cocktails at 6 ....and the breakfasts...wow!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemisslucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Everything from the food, rooms, grounds, owners to the bed sheets was perfect. My husband and I felt like royalty. I can't even begin to describe the experience, but if you are in the area or looking for a perfect fall getaway, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandalovesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We can't say enough about this B&B! Gil and Mary Ann were very attentive and friendly hosts, the rooms were imaculate, and the breakfasts were amazing! The eggs benedict would even have a chef like Gordon Ramsey begging for more! The location was convenient too especially if visiting Kaaterskill Falls, Hudson Walkway, Catskill Mountain House site, and other beautiful area attractions. The time of year (Fall) was also great because the color of the leaves were spectacular! A perfect place to relax and unwind. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are travelling to the Catskills, there is no need to research further. This is the place to stay for a wonderful couples or friends retreat. We stayed here while taking our annual summer hiking vacation with friends and could not have been more pleased. Firstly, the breakfast is amazing. There is a choice given the day before between two incredibly elaborate two course meals served in a lovely dining room that will keep you filled until the late afternoon snack! At about 5 or so, there is both red and white wine with homemade appetizers that are served in the comfy den with flat screen TV so you and your friends can relax after the day's activites, eat, drink and discuss where to go for dinner. And if thats not all, at the end of the evening there is port and a deliciously sweet treat before bed served as well! Maryann and Gil also keep a fridge available with soft drinks and waters for whenever. We and our friends both believe it was the very best B&B experience we have ever had (and we have stayed at some great ones).
The couple that own the B&B are unassuming, looking to make your stay as pleasurable as possible without being intrusive. The house is beautiful with large common rooms. The four bedrooms (I peeked in each) are all lovely laid out, wooden floors with area rugs, large marble baths, lots of light and closet space, flat screen TVs with lots of cable channels and best of all - the most comfortable beds that you will not feel your partner moving about in.
We stayed in the West room and our friends in the South room. We all said the same thing - that it was the best room we have been in for comfort, size, bathroom and bed.
It is conveniently located so that you can go hiking and exploring swimming holes in the Catskills and antique shopping in Hudson. We also enjoyed the Drive In Movie in Coxsackie - great fun. Wish we did not have to leave....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Post Cottage and it was an excellent experience. The accommodations were well appointed, immaculately clean and quite comfortable. The owners do an excellent job making you feel welcome without being intrusive. Both breakfasts that we had were delicious, and afternoon drinks/snacks and a nightcap are also provided. The location is within easy driving distance of good restaurants in nearby Hudson and the access to amenities in the Catskills is good as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the South room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJJNYC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Post Cottage. Gil and Mary Ann could not have been better hosts. The inn and our room were pristine...and the breakfast was amazing....need we say more. It was probably one of the nicest B&B's (if not the nicest)we ever stayed in. Planning on going back there this summer. Barry and Rita

Room Tip: You can't go wrong...stayed in the North room...lovely....and bathroom was large and very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
8.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hudson
193 reviews
11.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
6.4 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
82 reviews
4.7 mi away
Green Lake Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range: $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Post Cottage is a shingle style Bed and Breakfast designed by E. G. W. Dietrich around the turn of the century. We are located next door to the historic Thomas Cole House and two miles from Olana, Frederick Church's famed moorish mansion. Outdoor activities include tennis on our private court, hiking to the Kaaterskill Falls, visiting North South Lake and the Catskill Mountain House overlook, as well as exploring the Catskill Mountain trails. Enjoy nearby skiing at Hunter and Wyndham, Hudson River boating and kayaking. Both Catskill and nearby Hudson offer antique shops, coffee wine bars, and gourmet restaurants. Catskill hosts its own brewery and there are several local wineries. We offer large rooms with king beds, fireplaces, andJacuzzis tubs. There are spacious common areas. We serve generous gourmet breakfasts, and port wine in the evening. Stay with us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing