We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave!”
Review of The Post Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #2 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Mary Ann and Gil have managed to create a B&B that is akin to staying with friends while being treated as royalty. The house is set back on a great piece of property and though they have only been open one year, their personal style and the house's itself looks as though they have been in the business for decades, that's how good everything was. Our room was well appointed as well as the rest of the house with meticulous restoration evident and clean as a whistle, their attention to detail was wonderful. The personal touch we received was so thoughtful, Mary Ann made a special trip to ensure she had sugarless cookies for me as I am a diabetic for the nighttime snack. The breakfast each morning was gourmet and delicious, but would accomodate special needs. Mary Ann and Gil are simply a delight to be with and staying at their B&B really made our anniversary memorable as they both made us feel special and welcomed in their home. The best B&B we have ever been to in the last 11 years.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the entire home
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MILLANDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for The Post Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic stay at the Post Cottage and we're already planning our next visit. The innkeepers, Mary Ann and Gil, are just as warm as the living room's wood burning fireplace -- which Gil kept roaring throughout the evening. Their guests are the beneficiaries of this shingle style home's meticulous restoration, who get to enjoy historic features like the grand staircase, classical columns and arts and crafts decor with modern comforts like sparkling new bathrooms. From the Ralph Lauren towels and memory foam mattress to the bottomless crystal decanters of Chianti and gourmet breakfasts, we got so much luxury for so little. As long as the Post Cottage is open for business, it will be our homebase in the Catskills!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowsdower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

As noted by previous guests this is a great B&B.
Gil and Mary Ann are warm hosts but are unobtrusive.
We stayed for 2 nights with friends and had a great time. Wine and snacks early evening, port and desserts in the evening and great breakfasts.
All in all a great place to stay, there has been a lot of thought in the decoration of the rooms and attention to details

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Beautiful, CLEAN, luxurious, quiet, Excellent, tremendous value!! Great location, nice hosts. Worth every penny. Room was comfortable, bed was great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelWriterCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

As noted by previous reviewers, setting is excellent, guest rooms and common areas are well equipped, spacious, elegant but totally comfortable. Gil and Mary Ann are friendly but unobtrusive, and the food & wine offerings are tasty and most generous. Location is great for heading west into the Catskill Mountains, or east across the Hudson River to the shops/restaurants of Hudson and nearby attractions. Would recommend to others and return.

Room Tip: Was able to see all four rooms -- even the smallest and least expensive is beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SandyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the West room for two nights, the room was really luxurious and the host's attention to detail made this a memorable trip. From the early evening wine reception and Hors d'oeuvres to the homemade desserts in the evening we were totally spoilt. The breakfasts were delicious, with a different gourmet menu each day. The Innkeepers have a beautiful home, and it is a great place from which to explore the Catskills

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

What an incredible place! The owners Gil and Mary Ann become part of your family. Their hospitality is unreal! We were greeted by homemade cookies and wine and guacamole and homemade salsa. Every night at 8:30 port and dessert is served. And the breakfasts!!! Shirred eggs, peach blintzes, whole grain waffles, eggs benedict all incredible. Gil used to be a chef and they owned a restaurant.
The house is gorgeous, and our room was amazing. We stayed in the East Room and my boyfriend proposed to me in the room because it was so beautiful. I can't imagine wanting to get engaged any other place. The energy, the warmth of this place is wonderful!!!
We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifesabeach95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
11.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
168 reviews
8.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
6.4 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#1 of 7 in Catskill
81 reviews
4.7 mi away
Green Lake Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range: $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Shingle Style B&B close to Catskill skiing and hiking, HITS horseshows, Hudson sailing, adjacent to Cole House historic site nearby to Olana, numerous antique shops, historic houses and parks, several wineries and beverage trail. Rooms with king beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and other modern amenities. Spacious common areas and large guest rooms with en suite marble baths. Serving gourmet breakfasts, afternoon reception with wine and snacks, and port and desserts in evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing