We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and gracious”
Review of The Post Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spacious and gracious”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The common areas of the house and the rooms at the Post Cottage are spacious, tastefully decorated, and best of all, spotless! All the guest rooms have been renovated and each has a beautiful, private bath. Our room also had a fireplace, which we did not use. Guests have access to a small refrigerator, free beverages and glassware, which is located in a small common area near the guest rooms. Upon arrival, we were greeted with warm cookies, followed by wine and h'or deuves at 5p and a luscious chocolate tart with port awaited our return from dinner. The beds were a tad too firm for our taste, but, we still slept well. We thought the breakfast we ordered the night before was what would be on the table in the morning, and it was, but it was accompanied by a bowl of fresh berries and other fresh fruits, an assortment of breakfast breads, juices and hot beverages. Our Sweet Potato Pancakes were to die for and I'm still trying to dulpicate the recipe. Our hosts, Gil and Mary Ann were gracious and very accomodating during stay by getting a room ready for us on a moments notice and providing us with an ice bucket filled with ice. We would gladly return here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussy2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I searched and searched online for a quaint B&B with delicious food, free of patchwork quilts and teddies, in the Catskills for my 40th birthday weekend and happened upon The Post Cottage website. The seeming beauty of the rooms, focus on food and bunnies clinched it for me and we were not disappointed.

My boyfriend and I were impressed with the large, beautiful property (tennis court outside and pool table inside), the focus on food (cookies upon arrival, wine & cheese before dinner and port & dessert post dinner). These are my kind of people! And how can I forget the gourmet breakfast (choice between sweet and savory) ... simply excellent.

We loved the West Room...complete with fireplace, fresh flowers and beautiful furniture. Everything looked modern and brand new and Marianne's artist background and attention to detail was evident everywhere we looked. It felt like a cross between a quaint hotel & a high end B&B and our charming and humble hosts, Gill and Marianne, couldn't have been more gracious, inquisitive and helpful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The West Room was huge and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyedbostongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I rarely write such a rave as follows for The Post Cottage and Innkeepers Gil and Mary Ann. This historic house has been lovingly restored and the thoughtfulness with which this has been accomplished impressed the engineer in me and the interiors impressed the artist in me. As a solo traveler, I selected the North Room, but this room would have easily accommodated a couple in fine style and the private bath was tip-top. I enjoyed the extra wide sink, decor and the attention to detail was evident in the selection of hardware, luxury showerhead and sumptuous towels. The Queen bed, dressed in luxury linens, had a memory foam mattress and this was perhaps the most comfortable bed in which I have ever slept. So...the room was great.
Now...you will also be treated to wine and cheese at 5:30p.m. as part of this B&B experience...and this is not to be missed. Innkeepers Gil and Mary Ann do everything possible to make guests feel welcome to join them at the fireside in the sitting room and you will soon find stimulating conversation, good wine, upscale cheese and more. In the later evening out comes dessert and Port wine at which point I started thinking ...(can I just live here)! Desserts are a real treat and are homemade from family recipes. So.... the hospitality was great!
Then, if you haven't already been made a huge fan......there's breakfast! And I can cook....but these two can really cook!....It was just gormet, gormet...plenty of it, beautifully presented on fine china and with linen napkins....great coffee, additional baked goods with jams, etc. This is the kind of breakfast I dream about and have rarely found except perhaps in the Hotel Hershey Circular Dining Room (this would cost you about $25/person in Hershey). So, ...the food was better than great!
Conclusion...if you have any need in the Catskill, NY area for lodging....stay at The Post Cottage!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PECC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The food is spectacular! The atmosphere is so relaxing, the first floor is a spacious as well as gracious space to sit. There are gas fireplaces or wood fireplaces to sit in front of. It was too cool to use the tennis courts or go walking. The Innkeepers have seen to so many extra amenities, such as cocktails and dessert with port. The rooms are appointed in keeping with the age of the house, but the baths are modern and elegant. You will not take any stress back with you after a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We found The Post Cottage through the reviews on tripadvisor. We decided based on what we were reading to definitely give it a try. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious clean and perfectly decorated -- not overdone in the floral prints/flower patterns that seem to saturate most B&B. The breakfast was incredibly delicious, gourmet & creative. The hosts Gil & Mary Ann were attentive and very helpful in giving tips about what to do in the area. We definitely will be going back there again. It was the best B&B we have stayed in, relaxing and charming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kongju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Service, the rooms, location, amenities and food - everything about this B&B was amazing. This cottage is a very cozy romantic place to get away from hectic city life. Also great location - couple steps away from famous Thomas Cole's house. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank InnaCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Nothing like a restored mansion properly run as a B&B by a retired art teacher and a retired chef / lawyer. They have done an outstanding job on the place and the selection of art. At first the exterior color looks a little unusual but they explained that it was that way when they bought it and it grows on you. I think this is a clue to the uniqueness of the place. I have never had a better breakfast in my life. The owners are unusually intelligent. Catskill is a charming little town and we had a outstanding tapas dinner and a local restaurant named 355. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood (which is right next to the Hudson and looking at all the old mansions. One looked like the Adams family house! We also drove west into the hills and had a great hike to a waterfall. Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
4.3 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.4 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
6.2 mi away
B&B Lounge of Catskill
B&B Lounge of Catskill
#3 of 9 in Catskill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Property: The Post Cottage
Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Shingle Style B&B close to Catskill skiing and hiking, HITS horseshows, Hudson sailing, adjacent to Cole House historic site nearby to Olana, numerous antique shops, historic houses and parks, several wineries and beverage trail. Rooms with king beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and other modern amenities. Spacious common areas and large guest rooms with en suite marble baths. Serving gourmet breakfasts, afternoon reception with wine and snacks, and port and desserts in evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing