We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!”
Review of The Post Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Service, the rooms, location, amenities and food - everything about this B&B was amazing. This cottage is a very cozy romantic place to get away from hectic city life. Also great location - couple steps away from famous Thomas Cole's house. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank InnaCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2011

Nothing like a restored mansion properly run as a B&B by a retired art teacher and a retired chef / lawyer. They have done an outstanding job on the place and the selection of art. At first the exterior color looks a little unusual but they explained that it was that way when they bought it and it grows on you. I think this is a clue to the uniqueness of the place. I have never had a better breakfast in my life. The owners are unusually intelligent. Catskill is a charming little town and we had a outstanding tapas dinner and a local restaurant named 355. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood (which is right next to the Hudson and looking at all the old mansions. One looked like the Adams family house! We also drove west into the hills and had a great hike to a waterfall. Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneyswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were looking for a comfortable place to go to get away from NYC for a few nights, and were lucky to find the perfect place. We slept in the West Room, which turned out to be humongous. It features a thermostat-controlled fireplace which was more than sufficient for heating the large room. There was also plenty of space to hang out in a little lounge outside the room, as well as in the rooms downstairs. We were very well taken care of with a loaded cheese plate and wine in the afternoon, and fresh baked goods with port served at night. But the breakfasts were absolutely incredible, with a different choice between two outstanding meals offered each morning. Finally, what I most loved about the Post Cottage is that it is not over flowery like most. There was obviously a lot of thought put into the decorating, but this place has more of a tasteful "homey but modern" style.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My wife and I planned an escape to the Catskills for some January skiing, but all the places we normally stay were booked. Then, via a web search, we stumbled across this newly established B&B in Catskill. Because it was new, there were no reviews so we knew we would be taking a chance. But the pictures on their site looked great, so we went for it and were SO very pleasantly surprised. This charming home (more like a mansion than a 'cottage' ) has been lovingly restored by the new owners (Gil and Mary Ann) and converted into a really fantastic B&B. Our room was big and comfortable and quiet (new sound-proof walls), with kind-size bed and romantic gas fireplace that rids the winter chill. In the evenings, Gil and Mary Ann would provide snacks prior to dinner, and port and desserts afterwards. They also take great pride in their creative and delicious breakfast creations which fueled the day's skiing in a very gratifying manner! Finally, the B&B is 5 minutes from Hudson, NY, which we never realized has been completed resurrected. It's filled with high-end restaurants and bars which were an incredible find. In all, we were greatly pleased with our stay and would certainly come back a second time. A 'gem' and a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abrahamsen_glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
8.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
19.7 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Green Lake Resort & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range: $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Post Cottage is located at 174 Spring Street in the village of Catskill, NY 12414. We have four rooms each with a private bath and a fireplace. Guests are welcome to play on our private tennis court. Full breakfasts are included and port wine is offered in the evening. The Post Cottage is adjacent to the Thomas Cole House and two miles from Frederick Church's house, Olana. Downtown Catskill is within walking distance, and Hudson, NY is three miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing