We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do at letchworth”

Adventure Calls Outfitters
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Castile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer river rafting trips that are ideal for families with children, novice paddlers, and youth groups. Come see Letchworth State Park; "The Grand Canyon of the East" as only we can show you.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Went kayaking with my 2 daughters aged 9 and 11 in inflatable tandem kayaks in late august 2014. Water level was low but the scenery was breathtaking and the pace was perfect for us. Trip took approx 3 hours. It's the only way to get that view from the bottom of the gorge. The staff were excellent and looked after our group of approx 30 kayakers. I thought the price was very reasonable for the experience. I would definitely do this again.

1  Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, Warren. We are so glad you and your daughters enjoyed the outing and look forward to sharing the gorge with you all again in the future. One of the neat things about the trip is its uniqueness; the river levels change, the flora and fauna are never the same, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 6 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 3 reviews
"class rapids"
in 2 reviews
"ranging in age"
in 2 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 2 reviews
"wolf creek"
in 6 reviews
"family outing"
in 2 reviews
"zip line"
in 2 reviews
"great company"
in 2 reviews
"letchworth park"
in 4 reviews
"genesee river"
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 2 reviews
"rafts"
in 10 reviews
"gorge"
in 8 reviews
"safety"
in 7 reviews
"paddle"
in 4 reviews
"rocks"
in 5 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

A fantastic trip and a great experience. Dad and 2 teenage boys did this and we all loved it. Very safe and not too hard work so suitable for anyone. We were in a boat with a guide (Laurie) which was great as she told us about the gorge and river on the way down stream plus guided us through the best route. Great value at $35 each. Thank you everyone at ACO for a memorable time.

1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

We're delighted to have provided your family a memorable experience, RS. You're certainly right about Lorri, she is one of our very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very disorganized and unprofessional. Safety is a big concern for this company. A lawsuit waiting to happen.

1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

JB;

I'm sorry to hear your experience was so poor but am totally unaware of any issues we've had this season. Please contact me directly either by phone (343-4710) or via email; aco.rafting@gmail.com so I can learn what the problem was and take any corrective actions that may be needed.

Kevin Kretschmer
President - ACO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Rafting down the Genesee River below 400' cliffs? Not bad! These folks to a good job. Down into the gorge, into the rafts, through some mellow rapids, the water fights in the flats, a stop at a waterfall (and intriguing "hole" worn into the rock that is deep enough to jump into) and on down to the take out. It's a fun few hours, no doubt about it. Note: Short hikes involved to get to and from the river. Note 2: This trip is fun but best done in the spring when the water level is higher and faster; or after some heavy summer rains. Fall can be pretty boring and the water too shallow.

2  Thank 922PaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, Paul. We're glad you enjoyed your outing with us at the park this past season and hope you'll paddle with us again. If you're looking for a bit more excitement, we recommend you try rafting with us on the Salmon River in Pulaski, NY in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had such a good time. The water was low, so we were in individual inflatable kayaks. The trip was 4 hours, which was tiring, but such a laugh. We were well looked after.

1  Thank charlesandlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Glad to see you folks enjoyed your outing with us. We hope you'll paddle with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Calls Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Calls Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing