We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time was had by all”

Adventure Calls Outfitters, Inc. Day Trips
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Castile
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer river rafting trips that are ideal for families with children, novice paddlers, and youth groups. Come see Letchworth State Park; "The Grand Canyon of the East" as only we can show you.
washington, dc
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time was had by all”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from a trip to Letchworth and wanted to take a minute to sing the praises of Adventure Calls. Our group of 6 was a mix of rafters and solo boaters ranging in age from 11 to 63 and included newbies and experienced paddlers. We all had a REALLY good time. The river was low (as is usual in late August) and so the "rafts" provided were "duckies" (inflatable kayaks). That could have been stressful for first time paddlers. Instead, because of the hard working and competent guides, the group felt safe and well cared for. We were not rushed down the river and stopped three times to swim, enjoy the sites, etc. And not least of all, two of our crew had private boats which Adventure Calls, shuttled for no charge. How about that when so many businesses are out for every last cent they can get. I highly recommend these folks and will certainly go back on the river with them again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, Inc. Day Trips, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, Heather. We are blessed to be able to share the gorge at Letchworth State Park with paddlers of all abilities but are especially grateful to enable those who might otherwise be reluctant to try their hand at paddling the river. We also are happy to assist private boaters whenever possible, trying our very best to live up to the ideals of Mr. Letchworth. We look forward to paddling with your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We camped at Letchworth State Park for a week, and did this river rafting trip on our last day before leaving. We just knew we would have a great time and wanted to end our trip on a high note. It did not disappoint. After days of enjoying the views from above, it was just as scenic and spectacular to enjoy them from below. We were lucky enough to have a friendly and helpful guide in our raft. We were told the water was low because it was late in the season and not much rain had fallen recently, but even so, we had a fantastic time. Just enough adventure with the rapids, giggles when we got stuck on a rock, and very much enjoyed our rest stops. We were able to swim a bit, do some body surfing, and jump in the hole below a small waterfall. This was hands down the highlight of every member of the family's week of camping at the park. Tip: bring snacks. Between doing the paperwork, getting to the river, the trip, and getting back, it was about five and a half hours. Too long without food, so we were famished by the end. But, be sure to pack it in something watertight! Plan to get wet. If you have water shoes, wear them. Three of us wore flip-flops, which was okay, but hard to walk on the rocks. Husband wore tennis shoes, but it took two days for them to dry out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchess082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, Inc. Day Trips, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are so glad that we could be part of such a memorable experience for your family. The views from the bottom of the gorge at the park, looking up, certainly do offer a whole new perspective! We hope you'll be able to join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Immediately drawn to our witty guide Tim as he gave us our rafting orientation. Adventure Calls Outfitters is an efficiently run business. We definitely got our monies worth with being able to stop, rest, and float in the Genesee River. The highlight of the rafting trip (besides the white water) was jumping into the water hole underneath the water fall...fabulous fun! The entire crew was happy, helpful, and knowledgeable. A must do after seeing the river from the rim...to see it from the river looking up!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnrain228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville In
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun times!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This has class I and II rapids. Depending on the size of your group you can have a guide with you or you group can have it's own raft. They do stop a couple of places so you can get in the water and cool off. One of the stops is the bottom of a water fall so that was fun too. The guides were fun and it was a great time. They do alot for younger kids to go also so if you have younger kids don't automatically count this activity out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Owner at Adventure Calls Outfitters, Inc. Day Trips, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Jenny. We're very glad you enjoyed paddling through the gorge with us and hope you were able to spend some time in other parts of LSP and the surrounding area as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Took a raft trip with our 2 kids (8 and 6) and loved it! We did an afternoon trip on Father's Day and many other people had the same idea. There were about 20 rafts in our group with at least 6 guides. I wish we had gotten a guide for our boat, but that didn't happen. Once we were at the river (they bus you down from their office), they asked people who might want a guide to help them. Many other groups asked before us. 8 and 6 year olds are not helpful at paddling. But that was the only blip. The trip is great! Guides tell you what you are seeing while you are on the river and where you are in the park (tea table, archery park, etc). They stop throughout the trip so you can rest (3-4 times). The whole trip is 5 miles and we are not in shape, but no problems with all that paddling.

can't wait to go again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Calls Outfitters, Inc. Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Calls Outfitters, Inc. Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing