We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe-inspiring”

Letchworth State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Castile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Called the "Grand Canyon of the East," visitors come to this 14,340-acre park to view the dramatic 600-foot cliffs, the famous "Vale of the Three Falls," and to picnic, hike or camp.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had been hearing such wonderful things about "the grand canyon of the east" for several years, and finally got to see it for ourselves. Letchworth State Oark totally exceeded our expectations. Awe-inspiring views, clean, easy to navigate, exceptionally reasonably priced ($8.00 per car), with rest rooms conveniently located throughout the 16 mile drive from one end of the park to the other. Lots of summer activities (hot air ballooning, white water rafting, cabins for camping) that we look forward to trying.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    222
    28
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredible gorge with lovely trails”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Glen Iris Inn and hiked the Gorge Trail one day, It's right there, but we weren't sure we were actually on the trail when we started, You can go as far as 7 mi one way on this trail, which runs along the top of the gorge and has great views of the three waterfalls. At the Lower Falls trail, you can cross the gorge via a stone bridge. We did this and hiked on the other side for awhile. I found a huge snapping turtle by the side of the road! there was a group of Mennonite teenagers we kept bumping into along the trail, and they looked like they were having a great time as well. A wonderful experience,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tradgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wappingers falls, ny
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This park has some of the most amazing views in New York State. There are miles of trails to hike, many different play grounds for the kids, hundres of picnic spots and even a couple of places to eat (Carolines at the Glen Iris Inn being my favorite). There is also a place to go white water rafting with a company called Adventure Calls and they do hot air balloon rides too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Letchworth is a must see for everyone! I go there all the time. It's got lots of hiking trails - you can hike on the gorge side and see the "Grand Canyon of the East" or hike on the other side of the park and experience the beautiful woods.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly unique experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Even on an overcast day in April this place is phenomenal. It's been dubbed the Grand Canyon of the East and it really is that. We entered at the North entrance outside of Mt Morris and drove all the way thru the park to get to the Glen Iris Inn for lunch. As the road gets closer to the edge of the gorge you begin to see and sense the enormity of it all. It was easy to imagine how the native Americans must have felt living near this natural wonder. I had been there many times as a child and hiked the trail to the river, a long way down and especially up, for little legs (or big ones) but I remember how beautiful it was. We didn't do that this time but we stopped often to oversee the cliffs, river and waterfalls.. and the dam too. Very nice place to visit if you're in the Western New York area and you love nature.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank historycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Letchworth State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing