We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places!”

Letchworth State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Castile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Letchworth State Park, the "Grand Canyon of the East," is where a 17-mile stretch of the Genesee River roars through the park's scenic gorge with three major waterfalls and cliffs as high as 600 feet, surrounded by lush forests. Recently named Best State Park in the nation, Letchworth's new Humphrey Nature Center is a must-see. Walk the seven-mile Gorge Trail with jaw-dropping views at the overlooks or take the trail to the water's edge. I addition to trails, several hundred campsites and cabins, other amenities and activities include a pool, playground, athletic fields, festivals, cultural events, history and performing arts programs, guided walks, whitewater rafting, and hot-air ballooning.
Groveland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Letchworth is a must see for everyone! I go there all the time. It's got lots of hiking trails - you can hike on the gorge side and see the "Grand Canyon of the East" or hike on the other side of the park and experience the beautiful woods.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    226
    29
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly unique experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Even on an overcast day in April this place is phenomenal. It's been dubbed the Grand Canyon of the East and it really is that. We entered at the North entrance outside of Mt Morris and drove all the way thru the park to get to the Glen Iris Inn for lunch. As the road gets closer to the edge of the gorge you begin to see and sense the enormity of it all. It was easy to imagine how the native Americans must have felt living near this natural wonder. I had been there many times as a child and hiked the trail to the river, a long way down and especially up, for little legs (or big ones) but I remember how beautiful it was. We didn't do that this time but we stopped often to oversee the cliffs, river and waterfalls.. and the dam too. Very nice place to visit if you're in the Western New York area and you love nature.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank historycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, wonderful waterfalls, big park spead out”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a treasure of a park. It is often referred to as the "Grand Canyon" of the east. It might not be that dramatic, but it is a spectacular place to visit. IT starts off with a huge dam that controls the flow of the Genesee River. Often the water levels are not too high, but it's a beauty of a dam. The park lands are wonderful as they spread many miles along the gorge. There was great places to have barbecues, and some wonderful water falls near the Glen Iris Inn. There are a few museums, but the best part is the actually park and the views. The fall is amazing. There are two swimming pools; one is huge with an accompanying diving pool. They also have rafting rentals that are best after a rainfall. Hard not to find something you'll love here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oc, ca
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It should be a National Park! Stunning”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful day and it is still winter here! The house just opened for the season last week! the restaurant is very good the scenery is spectacular...don't miss the museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lagunahillbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Truly awe inspiring”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Letchworth is an amazing park and hard to believe in the northeast. I am a fan of the Niagra region but this park puts the falls to shame. It is a wonderful place to hike, camp, and spend time with kids, pets. We took our three boys (2 teens and a tweener) and tent camped. The falls are spectacular and keep going; the views are breathtaking. The campgrounds are clean and there are lots of activities for kids - a playground, game room, and camp store within walking distance from the sites. The campsites are clean, albeit pretty basic but staff is friendly and helpful; par for the course of NY state parks which are some of the best in the country. There park has a small cafe at the canoe launch, where you can take canoe and raft tours, as well as a stocked pond for fishing on the property, as well. Really it goes on and on. If memory serves correctly they have horses and horse trails too. The hiking is ambitious at times but a great deal of it is paved especially near the falls. There are four major falls to traverse so plenty of opportunity for variety. Great weekend trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Literarytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Letchworth State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing