We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Way to experience Letchworth State Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Iris Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castile
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Castile B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Lovely Way to experience Letchworth State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We only had a short amount of time to spend at Letchworth State Park. We had heard about the Glen Iris Inn from a friend and thought we should see if a room was available. We were in luck and we were able to book for a room for one night. The inn is in a valley near the Middle Falls and has a nice overlook to view it. There is also a trail that leads to the Upper Falls nearby. The room had a modern bathroom. The room itself was small, not unlike B&Bs in the UK. The room size was fine with us, not a problem. For those who need technology, be advised, cell phone reception at the Inn itself is non existant. Once you leave the valley where the hotel is, reception is fine. We also ate at the restaurant and enjoyed a great meal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    54
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
34
110
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Letchworth Park! It is amazingly beautiful! And the Pinewood Lodge was a nice treat! Extremely clean, well appointed with everything you need. Amazing for a state run facility! The microwave and fridge made a real difference. the meals at the Glen Iris were very good, but if you want to save a little on food, bring microwavable stuff and refrigerated drinks.

Room Tip: Choose the PInewood vs. the Glen Iris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the pines which is rather rustic but clean. We had dinner at the inn and it was fabulous. The service was attentive and food was excellent.The pines are a very short walk to the inn so everything is very convienent. The grounds at the inn are beautiful and view of the falls perfect. We spent quite awile at the museum and was very Impressed. We hit every highlight at the park in two days. Great trip for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monacoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Glen Iris Inn at Letchworth State Park for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We’ve stayed here quite a few times over the years to celebrate our anniversary, and, as usual, we weren’t disappointed this time! This is an excellent place to stay, as the Inn is historic and is located right at the middle water falls in the park.

Be advised that there is no elevator in the Inn, and you’ll need to climb stairs to get to the rooms. The three-story stairway has the original oak woodwork, and is gorgeous. As there are a few buildings that have rooms available for rent, be sure to indicate that you want the Glen Iris Inn. The Pine Lodge, Caroline’s Cottages, the Chalet, and the Stone House are other accommodations that are available for rent in the park.

Reserving a room for our special date was very easy to do over the telephone, especially since we were looking to stay on a Thursday night. But beware… on weekends in October during the peak of the Fall colours, all rooms are booked far in advance. I would suggest calling on the telephone rather than using the Internet booking, so you can talk to a person. If you want to stay over a weekend during October, be sure to call months in advance.

We always rent a specific room, and it’s cozy, comfortable, and clean. The bed is a pillow-top, and it was very comfortable. There were plenty of pillows, and the blankets were warm on a chilly October night. There aren’t TVs in any of the rooms, but there is a library on the top floor that has a large TV, games, books, and magazines. This library is a wonderful place to have coffee in the morning [free at the second-floor coffee station]. You can sit in the library chairs and admire the waterfall right outside the window. At night, the falls are lit up until about midnight, so you can sit in the library or on the veranda and watch the water flowing by.

The William Pryor Letchworth Museum, located across the parking lot from the Inn, is very interesting. The gift shop at the Inn is full of wonderful, unique treasures. On this last visit, I purchased a beautiful Christmas ornament that has a photo of the Inn, as well as one for Letchworth Park that was a preserved, gold maple leaf. We always buy Christmas ornaments from every place we travel to!

The rooms at Glen Iris Inn are reasonably priced for an historic inn with great views and a waterfall right located off the front porch. The New York State Park has many majestic overlooks of the canyon, and you can spend many hours hiking the various trails in the park.

Although there was a controlled hunt for deer while we were there in late October, we still saw several deer grazing along the roadway as we drove through the park. Hike the trails to your heart’s content!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be wonderful. The Cherry Suite has an outdoor balcony. Two swimming pools are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,139 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,515 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The Inn is a historic inn and is within a minute of the middle fall area of the park. As such, its a great place to stay as well as to celebrate special events such as weddings.

While there is no elevator, the stair case was charming and we packed so we needed to take just a few things to our 3rd floor room. We had the Maple Suite - large sitting area (with two comfortable couches, lighting, etc.). The bedroom and bathroom was nice.

At first, I took a look at the bed and said - wow, that is the tallest bed I have had to sleep in for a long time (took me back to Grimms Fairy Tells.....for a second). Then I noticed they had a nice stepping stool to get in the bed...and I must say - I slept so wonderfully well that night....with the quiet sounds of only falling water from the falls. Lovely....simply lovely.

We ate the restaurant at Glen Iris Inn....and the food and service both were very good. Highly recommend. We also had breakfast there (since we were inn guests - you have to pay for breakfast but only inn guests can have breakfast). Public and guests can dine for lunch and dinner; reservations for dinner highly recommended.

We enjoyed our coffee atter dinner on the chairs on the large patio area outside the deck after dinner. It was a meteor shower night and we were delighted to see some.

We also loved their gift shop - many, many unique interesting and great pieces. We were flying....if we had been driving, I would have bought more (sigh.....). Its worth taking a look.

We were there in October 2013 so the fall colors were also at their peak.

Oh, what a lovely place this inn is and highly recommend it; There is a variety of room sizes and styles.....so just realize that when booking. We booked about 4 months in advance for a suite mid week for October.

There is also a nice sitting library room - where there is a TV (but no one watched as its such a lovely place just to read). We did play two games of scrabble and had a good time.....There is a variety of board games and puzzles available for your use while staying at the inn.

Room Tip: Ask about room sizes, placement when booking your room as size can vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We actually stayed not at the Inn itself, although that's where you make reservations. It wasn't clear to us that we were not actually staying at the Glen Iris, but rather at The Pines - a motel-like building a short distance away. The room was clean, but not spectacular, fridge, full size coffee maker and microwave, rollaway bed, double bed, loveseat and small table with 2 chairs for eating. There is a picnic table outside your room as well as grills for outdoor cooking a few feet away. You can see the lower falls (lit all night) from just a short distance from your room. I thought it was a little pricey ($130 ish per night) for the level of accomodation. About equivalent with a mid-level motor inn.

Room Tip: If you want to stay at the Inn, make sure you clarify that when reserving your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed at the Pinewood Lodge which is in connection with Glen Iris Inn. What a perfect place. Quiet and peaceful and away from the crowd. We had a picnic table and fire ring to use. Started a nice fire and had our delicious s'mores. We sat and watched the falls until night time when the falls we're lite up....so cool. Had a picnic table right out front of our room to have our breakfast at. Bed was very comfortable as well. We had the luxury of having a TV in our room as well.

Room Tip: All 7 units are perfect. This unit area is small so not crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castile
13.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.9 mi away
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mount Morris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
19.6 mi away
Oak Valley Inn
Oak Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Iris Inn

Property: Glen Iris Inn
Address: 7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427-9714
Location: United States > New York > Castile
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castile
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Glen Iris Hotel Castile
Glen Iris Castile
Glen Iris Inn Castile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing