We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice get-away”
Review of Glen Iris Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castile
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Castile B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for our Anniversary. My husband had proposed to me here. Nice place for a quiet get-away if you want to be away from TV and phones. Rooms are simple, but clean and quiet. Enjoyed a fabulous meal in the hotel restaurant. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

I booked a standard room for a weekend getaway and it was fantastic. The room had a single double bed and lacked room for two people to move about. It was very old looking and had no TV in the room. I cannot stress enough that it exceeded my expectations. This place has character and a great staff.

We hiked the park all day and then came back and enjoyed time out on the veranda before cleaning up for dinner in the restaurant. Getting drink service on the veranda was challenging, with the staff disappearing for long periods of time, but that may be my only complaint. If you eat at the restaurant in the inn, I suggest ordering a coffee (they have many coffees for the 21+ crowd) and asking the staff to serve it outside. It's a great way to relax and enjoy the outdoors. If you want to spend time inside, there is a library with games and a TV, though during our stay we, and the other guests, were content to use it to read or to look out onto the waterfall which is lit at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30SomethingAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Letchworth State Park is a beautiful park with waterfalls, scenic gorges and lots of hiking trails. Although we could have easily done a day trip from our home in the Rochester area, we decided to spend the night for a belated anniversary celebration. We chose the hotel/dining package, which is available during spring and fall, but not summer. We did not stay in the Glen Iris Inn itself, but rather at the Pinewood Lodge, which is a motel like structure located across the street from the Inn. Rooms were basic, but in a nice setting and included a small refrigerator and microwave. A trail behind it led up to the Council Grounds - one of the sights of the Park. We did look at standard rooms in the Glen Iris Inn and they were quite a bit smaller and did not have a fridge or microwave. Package rates for the 2 facilities were the same. The package included a 4 course dinner from the regular dining menu and a full breakfast from the menu. Taxes and gratuities were included in the price. One could probably stay and eat a bit less expensively if you did not order appetizers or desserts or the more expensive items on the dinner menu, but if you want to "live it up" the package is a good way to go! There are a couple of swimming pools on the grounds, which charge a fee for use. We did not go swimming. Middle Falls, right next to Glen Iris are lit up at night. You can also view these falls from the grounds of the Pinewood Lodge. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would like to go back during autumn leave season.

Room Tip: See review - rooms in Pinewood bigger than standard rooms in Inn itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G1032AJbarbarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I love the NY State parks, but can't believe how beautiful this one is - amazing, along with a wonderful, welcoming hotel, staff, restaurant, and beautiful surroundings. Very highly recommend - bring very good walking shoes!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed there one night with my fiance and loved it. Charming, old style room (on TV's or radio in room) that was great but it does have central AC. Thank god for that since it was 90 degrees that weekend. Thought the staff was nice and the restaurant was great with good service. Expensive but no more expensive then any other nice restaurant. Plus you can have after dinner drinks and sit on the front porch just listening to the falls.

At night the middle falls gets light up as well which is a wonderful sight as well. Would recommend this hotel but just make sure you know that it is an old style inn and not a modern hotel. As long as you go in with that knowledge you should have a wonderful time.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank mjoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We absolutely loved our time at the Glen Iris Inn. My husband and I went up north to Letchworth State Park to check out the scenery and beautiful waterfalls. We decided to stay at the Glen Iris Inn initially out of convenience, being that it's located inside the park. Letchworth is breathtaking alone, but then combined with Glen Iris Inn, it was the perfect weekend for us. It felt like a second honeymoon. All the people at the Inn, from check-in to check- out and everyone in between that we had contact with were pleasant and kind. Our dinner at the restaurant Caroline's was delicious, we went back the second night too and were just as pleased. Our waiter Joe ( we asked for him the second night, because he made such an impression on us the first night) was so friendly and knowledgeable of the park and the area- and he makes a mean Bananas Foster. ( and-they will hold your leftovers in the fridge for you!) Complimentary coffee served on the second floor between 7 and 10! Loved it!
The Inn is pretty to look at, inside and out, and the view of the falls out front is phenomenal... We very much enjoyed watching the Hot Air Balloon lifting up over the falls at sunset. We have definite plans to go back,

Room Tip: Our room, Hemlock, was on the small side, which was fine with us. Some people might want a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed for one night and the room was a little dated but at $115 is what you can expect. Restaurant was poor and overpriced for the quality. We feel that the food is typical of what you might expect in a national park!
Letchworth Park itself was great and is worth a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castile
13.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
520 reviews
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
31 reviews
12.9 mi away
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mount Morris
57 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Inn at Houghton Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Iris Inn

Address: 7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427-9714
Location: United States > New York > Castile
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castile
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Glen Iris Hotel Castile
Glen Iris Inn Castile
Glen Iris Castile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing