We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a WOW Experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Westbury
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carle Place
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“What a WOW Experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We Flew in from Chicago tired and hungry! Took a quick swim in the back, went for a Nap in a very cozy room. The Hotel is Very well kept in and out, the Front Desk So Professional! I was recommended Vincent's Clam Bar Italian- why not? WOW!!! The place was Packed, yet as a VIP Hotel guest we sat in ten minutes. The atmosphere was Energetic/Lively, Casual, with lots of Talk and Laughter Around... the BEST Chicken and Shrimp Parmigian we EVER had...Reminded us of an Old Homestyle Bistro. We enjoyed the Complimentary Meatballs, Cannoli Sundaes, and Lemon cellos! Loving N.Y. - Thanks Holiday Inn and Vincent's!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
To Davis S,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide your feedback about your enjoyable stay. Customer Service is of the utmost importance to us and I am very happy to hear that you were provided with just that. I am also very glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our local restaurants.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    57
    14
    10
See reviews for
60
44
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
329 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was here for a long stay and was surprised to get a call from my credit card company that the hotel had charged over $6000 on one day and 5 days later charged another $5200 for a stay that all together would have only been about $3800 when paid in full. I have never had a Holiday Inn charge up front for a full stay without discussing it first much less charge $11,000!!! It took a few calls to the get this reversed and never given an answer as to how this happened.

Next was the business center that had a printer out of ink for over a week. I asked each day and was told it would be fixed. Unacceptable for this to happen at a Holiday Inn property and even more so when there is a Staples right across the street...GO BUY A CARTRIDGE!! The computers also seemed to take a lot of abuse as 1 of the 2 was not working properly most of the time I was there.

Next is the lack of security, the parking is on the back of the building and the key lock did not work the entire stay, ANYONE could access the hotel and not be seen by the front desk.

The housekeeping staff is EXCELLENT!! They go to every measure to make your stay pleasant. The hotel is older but the rooms are clean.

The pool area gets a lot of use and the crowd really disrespects it and the other guest. Saw a group take over one evening and it was very uncomfortable for anyone outside of their party to have a good time. They were being served poolside by the restaurant and were even eating in the pool, GROSS!!

All in all not the worst place I have ever stayed but might be the worst Holiday Inn I have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glendale215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear glendale215,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you found our staff to be excellent. Please accept our sincerest apology for the problems you had with your bill. We are glad that this was taken care of. We also apologize our Business center and pool facility did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rutland, vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family and I just left this hotel. My son is attending a nearby university in the fall and we were there for his orientation. We have stayed at this hotel before and will again next time. Very clean rooms, very nice we'll maintained property. We had a problem with our tv remote and someone was in our oom to fix it within two minutes. Wes at the desk was more Than helpful, as was every person we cme into contact with, from maintenance, to the pool, to the front desk, to room service. All smiling, helpful and friendly. Good job to all of you for making us all fel welcome! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Very quiet there! Slept like babies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Lisa L,

Thank you for taking the time out to let us know what an enjoyable stay you had!
I have passed on your kind words to Wes as well as the Holiday Inn team. I am delighted to hear that you found your home away from home when visiting your son at school.

I look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn Westbury was a pleasant surprise. During our stay we enjoyed one day that we stayed at the hotel. We had breakfast in the restaurant, worked out in the fitness center, enjoyed the pool, had drinks (interesting margaritas, martinis and others) by the pool. The pool was an oasis in the middle of the city. We enjoyed room service as we lounged in our room in the evening. The location was great for us as we caught the Long Island Railroad. It was a 5 block walk to the hotel. When we needed a car there is an Avis car rental in the hotel. We even caught a NICE (Nassau Inter-County Express) bus which stops right in front of the hotel. The building is not new but is well maintained. The only thing I would have improved was our air conditioner which took a long time to cool our room off when we first arrived.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool. It is a lot nicer than the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BootsyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear BootsyDawg,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience about your past stay. I am very happy to hear that this was a pleasant surprise for you, and am very delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy the great amenities that we have on property.
I thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at this property for a conference my wife was attending. We found the property to be perfect as our base camp to explore Long Island and NYC. The hotel itself had a slight hallway smell, probably from years of smokers but the room was very good. The bed was stiff but very nice and the room darkening shades worked perfect when you wanted to sleep in. We ordered a roll-away unit with an extra comforter for our son and that bed was very good. We also ordered the fridge and microwave unit for the room for $10 per day but it was worth it. The pool was cold and a bit dirty but the pool and outdoor dining area grounds were very nice. The workout room was sufficient although on this trip there was not time to work out. Parking was free and the location was minutes from the train into the city. The staff was great and the bar and restauarant attached were adequate. I would recommend this property. Make sure your bathroom is not a handicap room as the counter-top was small.

Room Tip: Don't get a 1st floor on the parking lot side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MichiganTrevor ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about our location. I apologize that the hallways seemed to have a scent to them, we are looking into this and will be taking care of it.

We strive to make our guests comfortable and happy during their stay. I am very happy that you were able to try all of the wonderful amenities that we have here on property. I am also very pleased to hear that you have made this your "home base".

We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area. Thank you again.

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(56) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We hosted my mom's 50th birthday at the Holiday Inn and it was a wonderful experience. From the buffet menu to the open bar and to the servers, everyone was wonderful. Shout out to Super Star Mary who was the coordinator that night! You are awesome Mary! Thanks to Amanda also for working with us out-of-towners in organizing the party. We are grateful for the service and accomodations. Most of all our mom said it was the best party she'd ever been to!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Joy V,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write these kind words about your experience here. I am so happy to hear that your mother had an amazing birthday, and am very glad that we were able to provide that for her. I have passed on your compliments to the staff and hope that you think of us when another event comes up! Thank you again.

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@ hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn with my daughter last month. She was attending a class that was being held in a conference room at the hotel. We were there for 10 days and enjoyed our stay. While she was at class during the day, I was out exploring Long Island.
Cynthia at the front desk was very helpful, friendly and courteous. She arranged a day tour of New York city for me, which included admission to the observatory at the Empire State Building.
There are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the public, I will be pleased to share this review with my fabulous staff. You are right about Cynthia, she is my star and we make her aware of how lucky we are to have her on our team every day. Safe travel and I hope to see you soon.


Thank you
Denise Luna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carle Place
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
3.1 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Westbury

Property: Holiday Inn Westbury
Address: 369 Old Country Road, Carle Place, NY 11514-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Carle Place
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carle Place
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Westbury 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Westbury is an independently owned and operated full service IHG Hotel. It provides guests with 152 rooms and suites as well as banquet and catering space that may accommodate up to 120 guests. The Hotel offers its accommodations, amenities and services to the corporate, leisure and social traveler from all of the world. It's centralized location within Nassau County, Long Island, NY makes it an ideal and convenient host to many. For those visiting the towns of Westbury, Garden City, Mineola, Uniondale, Carle Place, Roslyn and the surrounding area, the Holiday Inn Westbury is the ideal Hotel to consider being your host. Local attractions to the Hotel include Eisenhower Park, Nassau Coliseum, The Space at Westbury, Westbury Music Fair, Roosevelt Field, Museum Row, Old Westbury Gardens, Bethpage State Park, Jones Beach and much more. The Hotel is also in close proximity to New York's JFK, LaGuardia and Islip Airports. The Hotel is also located within walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road (Carle Place Train Station). Other nearby interests include Hostra University, Adelphi University, LIU Post, Nassau Community College, Winthrop Hospital and North Shore LIJ Hospitals and affiliates. The Hotel's amenities include but are not limited to the following: Outdoor garden courtyard and pool (seasonal), 24 hour business center, 24 fitness center, 24 hour guest laundry room, complimentary WiFi, ice machines, drink and snack vending machines, etc. Guests of the Hotel may enjoy the Hotel's onsite Restaurant, which is LiLLies Restaurant and Bar. LiLLies serves breakfast, lunch and dinner Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, and breakfast and dinner Mondays - Thursdays, as well as room service to in-house guests. It offers guests a delicious eclectic mix of Italian/American fare with something for everyone to enjoy. It has a full bar that offers guests a delightful selection of fine wines and spirits, as well as a variety of select beers on tap and in bottles. Restaurant Hours: Breakfast Daily: 6:30 am - 11:00 am Dinner Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm Bar 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm Sunday - Thursday & to Midnight on Friday & Saturday In-House Guest Room Service: Same times as Restaurant/Dining is available. Lunch (seasonal): Friday, Saturday and Sunday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm (Mother's Day Weekend - Labor Day Weekend) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Westbury Hotel Carle Place
Holiday Inn Carle Place
Carle Place Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing