We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsympathetic to a death in the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at angel rock two or three years ago and it was wonderful. We were going to go back this October, but my aunt passed away, and we all went to her funeral arrangements that fell on the same weekend. We called angel rock not long after we found out. We put a pretty hefty deposit into that weekend, half of our overall bill. We called them, hoping to get our deposit put towards another weekend, since we understand that they would be losing out on money. They wouldn't give us our deposit back or count it towards another weekend. They were very short with us over the phone and very unsympathetic. I could understand not letting us put it towards another weekend if we had any other excuse, but this was a death in the family. On top of grieving, we had to deal with finding out that we had thrown our money away on top of it. I get that they maybe couldn't rent our cabin out on such short notice and may have lost money, but that weekend was Columbus day weekend and it was a pretty busy weekend, so they were still raking in the dough. They could have let us put it towards a slower weekend in the year to help business for that weekend. We honestly threw away close to $300 dollars, and never used the cabin. My aunts obituary was in the paper and everything. We could have proved it to them even though that would be pretty rude of them to ask. Louise Roach is in the observer dispatch, you can find her obituary online. Angel rock is great, but hopefully no one in your family passes away, because you will NOT get your money back, and you won't get credit towards another weekend. They make enough money off of those cabins to make an exception like this to the rule. How stingy can you be not to let a grieving family reschedule their stay?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol T, Owner at Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

We apologize if we did not appear to be sympathetic – that was certainly not the case, we are truly sorry for your loss. We also want to thank you for taking the time to write this review as your feedback is important to us.

Because we often have multi-cottage rentals, we can also experience multiple last minute cancellations, so we do try to have a fair cancellation policy. With our 50% deposit policy, if you do not arrive, we lose 50% of what we would have earned and the guest also loses 50%. It’s a lose/lose situation but it is fair & equal to both parties.

We were able to re-rent one of the three cancelled cottages – and we did allow this cottage to use their deposit toward a future stay. (We assume the writer was not aware of this as the reservations were under three separate names.) Also, in the spirit of fairness, one of the cottages that was part of this group cancellation had paid for their stay in full in advance, and we immediately refunded 50% when we received the cancellation call. The customer did not request this, and was thankful when we told her we were doing this.

In this case, we would like to try to make this unfortunate situation a little better for this family and therefore have contacted the remaining two cottages and offered them the opportunity to put their deposit toward a future stay as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff at Angel Rock is very accommodating. We stayed in Cabin 6 during a one night stay. The cabin was well maintained and clean, but very small -- no closets or dressers. The furnishings in the livingroom are fine, but could be updated, and would prove tight for 4 or more people. The porch offered an outstanding, unobstructed view of the river and of a lovely Canadian property. The porch needs an outside light for late night reading -- all other cabins seem to have a light, cabin 6 did not. The cottages are closely arranged -- a problem when other renters forget they are not alone, especially at 5:30A.M. The sunsets are magnificient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed a fabulous week in August 2012 with family using two of the cottages. The location was great as we went into the village as well as Clayton and Alexandria Bay. We all enjoyed time in the new pool right at opening before heading out for the day,s activities or an afternoon break.
The only major drawback was getting used to the shower temperature as one tried to adjust the quirky faucet. A suggestion for all those considering Angel Rock - carefully look at the pictures of each cottage as you plan your lodging. Would you want/use two queen size beds in one room? Would you or your child really sleep in the loft?
The owner and staff were very helpful whenever we had a question or a concern.

Room Tip: Again, look at the pictures of the cottage rooms. While it may be true that the river can be seen f...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kemosabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A group of 26 stayed at the cabins and loved it. Some of us stayed in cabin 13, on the water. Spectacular sunsets and view. The cabin was immaculate upon arrival. The kitchen is up to date. I would bring measuring cups/spoons. If you plan on baking you may need pans for muffins and breads. Otherwise they had other useful cooking tools. The bedrooms do not have much room for storage but adequate if packing swimsuits and shorts. The salt water pool was great. Plenty of seating, bathroom and shower poolside. We loved playing water volleyball there except that it is tight if others are trying to be in the pool. They have a sand volleyball court but it is pretty compact the sand so wouldn't recommend diving on it! Our other group stayed in the larger newer house. Very nice new kitchen. The great room was wonderful for meals and in the evening with a view still of the river. Since you are directly across from Canada be careful of cellphone roaming fees! Call your provider.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank lifeisgreat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently rented "cabins" 5 and 6. Our family (including extended) totaled 9. Two children and 7 adults. Clean with a wonderful view. Fully equipped kitchens with everything from forks to loaf pans. Several flights of stairs to the waterfront. Well lit grounds. Fire pit, small playground, pool, docks, rental boats +kayaks right on the property. The heated pool has a salt filter system, unless you compare it to chlorine it sounds useless, it's wonderful. Friendly, helpful staff. Lighthearted fun family atmosphere.

Room Tip: Call early!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in cottage 6 this summer. At first we were surprised by how small it was and lack of room for our luggage but got over that as soon as we observed our first sunset. The sun setting over the river was just beautiful and different every night. I have a great zoom on my camera so was able to zoom in on the ships going around Carleton Island and wait for them to come around the otherside. Very cool! Our cabin was very clean, the pool temperature was perfect, the swim area was open and the kids had fun swimming one day, the kids really enjoying fishing off the dock and caught lots of fish (mostly gobes but for kids it was fun). My daughter caught a really night large mouth bass of the dock too. There are alot of steps down to the water but for our age of kids and adults it was fine. The new shuffleboard was fun too! Wifi was good but cell service was spotty. Loved jumping off the pier in Clayton and it was a great spot to see the ships go by. Also went to Tibbets point lighthouse and did the Uncle Sam tour to Boldt castle... amazing! Ate twice at the Koffee Kove in Clayton and had yummy dinner at the bar/restuarant very close to angel rock. (can't remember the name but there isn't much out there so you wouldn't miss it) Would definitely consider staying here again and am already recommending it to others!

Room Tip: If you don't want to lug your things down lots of stairs ask which cabins you can park and unloa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family had such a wonderful time staying at Angel Rock Cottages. To start, the owners and office staff were so courteous and friendly and accommodated anything we asked for. The property was well taken care of and very pretty. Great pool! Our cottages was a very tidy and clean three bedroom cottage with fantastic views. It was so nice to sit on the deck. The cottages came with everything we could use while staying there. It was extremely hot during our stay so thankfully we had air conditioning. The cell service was very poor but we were on the canadian border so that could have been the problem. Other than that we had no issues. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationer2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Vincent
10.1 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
20.8 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
985 reviews
20.7 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
20.6 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages

Address: 34311 State Route 12e, Cape Vincent, NY 13618-2124
Location: United States > New York > Cape Vincent
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cape Vincent
Price Range: $132 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rental cottages and vacation homes range in size from one to five bedrooms, most with large water view decks. All of our accommodations have been beautifully decorated and are fully equipped for your comfort, including heat, air conditioning, cable TV and wireless internet in all cottages. Rentals are available on either a nightly or weekly basis during spring, fall & winter and on a weekly basis only during the summer season; many of our cottages are also available for off-season long term rentals. We are one of the few area properties open and available on a year round basis. On our property we offer both vacation homes just a few minutes’ walk from the water, or our classic waterfront or water view cottages. We also offer rentals in our 4 bedroom home in nearby Clayton or our immaculate 5 bedroom deluxe vacation home across the road from Angel Rock. We pride ourselves on also being able to offer amenities at our property including but not limited to protected dock spaces,kayak and canoe rentals, and a heated pool. Located in the Thousand Islands and directly on the St. Lawrence River, Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages offer easy proximity to prime Muskellunge, Walleye, Northern Pike, and Lake Trout & Bass fishing grounds both in Canadian and American waters. In addition, the St. Lawrence River is quickly gaining popularity with recreational divers, due to the exceptional water clarity and numerous wrecks in the area. Our friendly staff in the office is always glad to offer any information needed for arrangements for guided fishing, duck hunting, and even dive trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing