We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and waitstaff!”
Review of Breakers Restaurant - CLOSED

Breakers Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and waitstaff!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We were on vacation and stopped here for lunch and enjoyed it so much we came back for dinner. The decor is fun and bright. Both times we were greeted with a smile and made to feel at home. The food is excellent, great variety of salads, steak perfectly cooked as was the fish. Save room for desert or do what we did, and get it to go (carrot cake and chocolate cake, yum!) Wish we didn't live 5 hours away!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls night out!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great new year old restaurant in Cape Vincent. First dinner meal there. Great choices on menu, pleasing presentation, attentive wait staff.
Lunch menu just as appealing. Desserts eye catching in refrigerator case in dining room and three choices we tasted were made on site and perfection!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fivelovelyteachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good menu”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited for lunch for the first time on a Saturday. The restaurant was full, clearly short staffed and the two serving appeared overwhelmed and indifferent to providing good service. However, we weren't there to make friends, just have a nice lunch. Menu was extensive with lots of choices for salads, sandwiches and starters. Our food was good and arrived after a bit of a lengthy wait. Most diners had to go to the bar to ask for and pay their bill.

I would try it again, but maybe for dinner instead of lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice new restaurant in Cape Vincent”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had lunch at the Breakers recently for the first time. It has a nice atmosphere and helpful staff. They have vegetarian options (which we had) as well as a good variety of sandwiches, salads, burgers, etc. There is an outdoor area which is nice when the weather permits.
I have heard from others that their dinners are fabulous so I must make a point to see for myself. It is a nice addition to Cape Vincent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJen113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stopped in on a wintery Saturday and were surprised at the quaint atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork. I had the chicken pesto sandwich my friend the Swiss burger, both were exceptional and 2 sides that were homemade. The staff was very friendly and the beer was cold! I would highly recommend the Breakers. Carol and Eric told us they are interested in doing events on the back lawn and even putting in a Tiki bar. Can't wait for summer

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorriemcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape Vincent, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing