We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Canton B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was a great little place to stay on our east coast trip. The owners have obviously put heart and soul into the rennovation of this home and it shows! Everything is lovey and pristine, and the owner is very helpful giving us info about the school and area. And delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We loved every single detail about our stay at the 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast. Charles, the owner is adorable and personable and made us feel right at home. Brooke is lovely as well. the house is gorgeous with every detail beautifully done. the room was huge, with gorgeous huge windows letting the sun in. a very comfy 4 poster bed, beautiful thick turkish cotton towels, an enormous jacuzzi bath, thick plush terry cloth robes for your use. charles asked us what we wanted for breakfast and prepared a delicious feast for us right on time the following morning. i am keeping my fingers crossed that my daughter chooses to attend st. lawrence university so we can stay with charles again many more times!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyG594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I loved staying at 24 East Main! All of the employees were so nice, breakfast was delicious, and the rooms are exquisite!

Room Tip: The Rous Room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at 24 East Main during a visit to nearby St. Lawrence University. The house was immaculate and charming. Brook and Charles are great hosts. Our heart shaped pancakes for Valentine's were a big success!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermudapaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week in Canton while on a job assignment. The weather outside was absolutely freezing, but the atmosphere and 24 East Main is warm, inviting, and homey. We found our hosts, Charles and Brooke, to be delightful, hospitable, and friendly. They were both attentive and concerned with making our stay as nice as possible.

Our bedroom was appointed beautifully with every little detail looked after: the sheets were luxurious, the towels plush, the bookshelves stocked with interesting books and magazines--and the place was absolutely spotless. I can honestly say I've never stayed at a place so clean and well-maintained. Did I mention the radiant floor heat? The plethora of windows? And of course, the breakfasts, which were the perfect start to each day. Whatever you want, they will make it and they will make it well!

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here. If we ever find ourselves back up in the North Country, we will be sure to book here again. This is no hyperbole--if you're ever in Canton and you need a place to stay, you're making a mistake going someplace else.

Room Tip: I visited all of the rooms and would be happy with any of them. We stayed in the back room, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have stayed at 24 E Main several times when visiting my little brother at SLU for his football games. Charles is an excellent host and fun to spend time with. The house is immaculate and maintained with pride. Brooke, Charles, and others make delicious meals, especially breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've stayed at 24 East Main several times, first visiting St. Lawrence when our son was a Junior in High School, then coming to take him there to begin his college adventure, family weekend, etc. I must say, returning there is like going to visit family or long time friends.

Charles and Brook are easy-going and accommodating. They know just about everything and everyone there is to know at SLU, and are also very knowledgeable about restaurants and activities in the surrounding area.

They are within walking distance of downtown Canton, and SLU.

Breakfasts are epic, with as much eggs, pancakes, bacon strips and bacon strips as you wish. We especially like the fruit salad with pineapple and berries as an accompaniment, and they've served some tasty quick breads too. We were lucky enough to be there on "Bagel Friday" once when Dave had made delicious homemade bagels.

Rooms are neat and comfortable, with Wi-Fi.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNtravelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
1.3 mi away
University Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
8.4 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
19.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 24 E Main St, Canton, NY 13617-1439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full home cooked breakfast is served daily, including local specialties from the region. Hosts are happy to share their love of the North Country and send you on a variety of adventures. The B&B is comfortable and allows for relaxation either inside or on the upper and lower porches. A short walk to downtown shops, cafes, and St. Lawrence University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing