We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique B&B with small-town hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Canton B&B and Inns
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boutique B&B with small-town hospitality”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed staying at 24 East Main Street while we were in Canton to see friends of hers.

Charles is a great host -- very friendly, generous, and conscious of the little details that made our stay pleasant. We stayed in the Rouse Room, and it was spacious, very clean, and modern. In fact, the whole B&B (which Charles and his fellow St. Lawrence friends renovated) is modern without sacrificing the feeling of being in an historic old house.

Charles made a fantastic breakfast for us, with waffles, bacon, fruit salad, bread and jam. We could have had more, but then we wouldn't have been able to walk to our car.

Overall, it was really a pleasant experience, and a great value for the money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitandLari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
7
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We arrived at 24 East Main after spending the evening in another B&B (as part of a college tour around NY). The previous B& B had both my daughter & I wondering if B&Bs were good lodging options as we move forward into the next decade. One night here renewed our enthusiasm that B&B can be a very special place. As opposed to heavy kitsch decoration that can overwhelm many B&Bs - 24 East Main is very luxurious and zen. The house and rooms are minimally decorated to reveal the beauty of the wood & architecture. All furnishings are tasteful and of top quality - feeling more like a sophisticated 5 star hotel rather than a B&B. It was equally refreshing to find a personable young man at the helm. Although the setting is sophisticated and hip- the old fashioned home cooked traditional B& B breakfast is definitely not comprised. Neither is easy access to wi-fi. If you are looking at colleges in the area - Charles is a wonderful spokesperson for St Lawrence and gave us lots of insight to the college and the area. The combination of Charles' genuine hospitality combined with a charming and sophisticated old house really redefined the B&B experience for both my daughter and I. When we return to the area - we could not imagine staying anywhere else. Wish there were more B&Bs out there like 24 East Main!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyagemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I could not believe how beautiful this house was. Charlie, the 26 year old proprietor restored this old house on main street by hand. It is quality from the ground up, and so comfortable and clean! I wish I had taken pictures. He is an incredibly friendly and laid-back young man.

Breakfast is hearty, plentiful and delicious. Basically, if you want it they make it. One couple was visiting their adult daughter who lives in town, and Charlie invited the daughter to join us for breakfast.

Free wireless internet throughout. We had a laptop with us, but Charlie let us use his computer also.

Some of the guests mentioned that the rooms in the front have street noise, and occasionally a train going by.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likecomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Unquestionably, 24 East Main B&B is the place to stay in Canton, New York or St. Lawrence County for that matter. Charles is a fantastic proprietor and has created a charming oasis in the North Country. Stay here, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcowslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed two nights, Friday through Sunday morning, and had a great time. The proprietors are accommodating and friendly - as willing to discuss local sights and businesses as they are to join in a game in the evenings. The laid back atmosphere makes 24 East Main Street a comfortable and stress free getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I traveled with my boyfriend and my mother. We had a lovely stay. The B&B is a huge, beautifully-restored victorian home - comfortable and welcoming. Our host and hostess were fantastic, as were the delicious breakfasts. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The location is very convenient to St. Lawrence University. I was concerned that it would be too noisy on Main St., but didn't find that to be a problem. The room was large enough to accomodate the two of us plus our 21 year old son. Charles was very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to see. We spent several days touring the area and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTfromVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
10.1 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
228 reviews
1.3 mi away
University Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
350 reviews
8.4 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
60 reviews
19.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 24 E Main St, Canton, NY 13617-1439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full home cooked breakfast is served daily, including local specialties from the region. Hosts are happy to share their love of the North Country and send you on a variety of adventures. The B&B is comfortable and allows for relaxation either inside or on the upper and lower porches. A short walk to downtown shops, cafes, and St. Lawrence University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 24 East Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing