We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good museum to see boxing history”

International Boxing Hall of Fame
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Canastota
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eager boxing fans created this museum devoted to the sport.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
803 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,026 helpful votes
“good museum to see boxing history”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Next weekend is the induction weekend so there was a good buzz around the new class including Oscar de la Hoya and Félix Trinidad.

This is about the size of the wrestling hall of fame in Iowa. Not big but well done with good exhibits.

I do not know much about boxing other than the main names. I learned a lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poorly Managed”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by Memorial Day weekend only to find out the museum was closed because management decided to do some painting. I understand the need for maintenance, but why would you close down on weekend when you might actually have a lot of visitors? Makes no sense. Management should have scheduled the painting on a weekday or a regular weekend. I'm sure the memorabilia in the museum would be cool to see, but unfortunately it looks like this place is run by morons.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Boxing fans ALERT!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Okay, saw the sign as we were driving to Verona. We didn't know it was there! Checked in at Verona and next day we decided to backtrack one exit to see it. NOT DISAPPOINTED! If you love boxing or even if you are just a casual fan....this is so worth it. We had a great time and really learned a lot. Just seeing the ring from Madison Square Garden is great. Employees are very nice and accommodating. Spent some time and money in the gift shop for items you cannot get anywhere else. This stop on I-90 is worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrslemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must for boxing fans”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A must stop for any fan of the "Sweet Science". The museum is small but has a nice selection of memorabilia. There are plaques of all the boxers inducted into the hall. I had to make sure to find my favorite boxer of all time, Alexis Argüello! There are large display cases of trunks and robes from some big name boxers. There are Ali and Frazier full size posters to take pictures next to. There are plaster casts of the boxers hands so you can compare them to your own, mine didn't compare favorably! The boxers are divided into the different eras so it is quite easy to find the fighters you are looking for. The ring from Madison Square Garden that hosted many, many famous fights and fighters is there as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there a little more than a hour before the hall was supposed to close for the day. The gentleman who sold us our admission tickets asked if we would like a short guided tour. Of course we said yes and he gave us a 10 minute tour and then turned us loose to explore the hall for ourselves. He was also very helpful when I had a couple of questions, the staff was quite friendly and made us feel like valued guests. It was a very fun visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FatncrankyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small museum, but a must for any sports fan”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The museum is small but very well appointed. It also offers a very comprehensive history of organized, modern boxing.
I especially enjoyed the clips of memorable great fights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank family_of_five-nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Boxing Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to International Boxing Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing