We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I loved this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The suite was well appointed, the beds very comfortable. My room looked out on Lake Canandaigua, so it was a wonderful view.
The meal for the group lunch was well-prepared, and the waitress was able to accomodate my request for a special meal within ten minutes.
Located across the parking lot is the world famous NY Wine and Culinary Center, a must see for your Finger Lakes trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGKramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 399 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

I booked 2 lake view rooms in the second week of June to bring company from out of town there. The location is ideal because it is right on the water, theres a pool, several places to eat on the property, a spa and a short drive to the main drag of Canandaigua which really is a cute little town. I booked these rooms way in advance (which you have to do to get a lake view room as there arent many and in wedding season they book up fast) and our "lake view" rooms where located directly in front of the pool. Sure you can see the water over the pool but these lakeview rooms are pricey compared to the reg rooms and of course there was a wedding on the premises so all the other lakeview rooms were booked. Also an imp note is if there is a wedding going on and you have a lake side room it can get quite noisey into the night so be aware of that. Since there is also a lakeside bar it can even get loud without a wedding going on. The last night we were there it rained very heavily and the area in front of one of our patios was all flooded. Service and food was all very good and we still had fun but I walked away feeling like I overpaid for the rooms. My advice: get a 2nd floor lakeview room and book waay in advance, and be aware there may be outdoor noise and if you can't beat em join em!

Room Tip: Book early for a lakeside room, get it on the second floor (there are only 2 floors) or if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank echodoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel, while in a very good location, needs a lot of work. The room we had was very tight for the two of us. It appeared to have been updated sometime in its history, but still need a lot. The Inn is next door to the New York Wine & Culinary Center, but a bit farther to the business district. We found plenty of free parking in the business district.
Hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful. One of the hotel restaurants that signs said was open was not. The main restaurant seemed to be quite expensive and had an unappealing menu.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed on a Friday night in August...our 'standard price' room actually had a great view of the canal and lake (from the side of the Inn), and was clean, comfortable and inviting. Best part of the Inn was the fun scene in the evening at the outdoor bar and restaurant- they had a live band and many people were dancing, or just sitting back and enjoying the music and beautiful scene with a drink (food was decent, not special, but not bad either). Lobby was very pretty, and the front desk staff were friendly and professional. The Inn is only a minute walk from the NY State Wine and Culinary center- highly recommended! There are a few restaurants and shops nearby, and you can take long walks along the lake...tons of amazing wineries all within minutes drive. Only complaint was the room service- took an hour for them just to take our order & when the food arrived (breakfast-eggs, toast, sausage), it was cold and bland....we will still go back though since it was overall a great place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I was at this hotel about 8 years ago in the winter for a ski trip and had a great view of the lake. I was there just last weekend and things have changed.
They have a beautiful lobby area with fireplace and lounge chairs and large windows that look out toward the lake, but the view is blocked by a "big white tent". If you walk down the hall to the restaurant you'll find a very nice, open dining area with large windows that look out to a "big white tent". Many of the rooms also have their views blocked by the "big white tent"
The room was nice but missing many of the things found in hotels today. No "frig" or microwave. Small bathroom. One thing I did liked was the centeral heat and air system. Not one of those loud under the window units that wake you up all night.
But back to the restaurant. Prices seemed to high. Service was poor at best. Breakfast buffet was always cold. Wait staff just seemed to ignore you unless you stood up and waved your napkin.
I would try something different next time.

Room Tip: Ask about the "big white tent".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skiwithapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Many of the rooms with lake side/ lake view are actually given a view partially blocked by large catering wedding tent installed all summer on shore. Resstaurant Max's very nice, we ate on veranda... With view more of tent and marina than lake. We had nice Irish coffee out on the dock with the nice adirondack chairs. Rather disappointing quality small coffee maker in room of upscale hotel.... In this day of small Keurig type machines. Overall, very nice place, but less than the 5 star trip we hoped for. The notice in the rooms about "we will assess a really high charge if you take a towel" was a bit brusque!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms with lake side/ lake view are actually given a view partially blocked by large cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in a standard room for a wedding weekend. The bed spread had an old blood stain droplet on it - yuck. The bathroom was grimy. The vending machine kept spitting out my dollar so had to go to one on different floor. Room rate was $130/night so I guess I should not expect luxury level accommodations. It was overall clean, the restaurant was nice as was the bar (The Sandbar but no sand). Very close to the NY wine n culinary center which was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moretravelpleasenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.4 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Canandaigua
Super 8 Canandaigua
#4 of 12 in Canandaigua
412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Canandaigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range: $133 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing