We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”
Review of Scoops

Scoops
Ranked #4 of 5 Dessert in Canandaigua
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Bad service and bad food. Meaty watery warm ice cream is not cool. It's like they don't keep the freezer cold enough and what is supposed to be hard ice cream turned out to be more runny and watery than most any soft serve ever is. We had to throw out the majority of our cones because it was so disgusting and messy. They only gave us one napkin so we had to walk 5 minutes down the road to wash our hands at the gas station. FYI, it was only 60 degrees, and even on the hottest summer days we've never had such warm ice cream melting experience anywhere until here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattandfamilyrdtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice people & great ice cream”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The young lady behind the glass was very patient with us as we he'd no idea what flavor we wanted. She gave us samples of a few favors and when we made our selection it was served immediately. The ice cream is delicious with no aftertaste.

Helpful?
Thank Rjf9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Huge and tasty”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My son and I were standing in line and he wanted to order either a medium or large cone. Then they guy in front of us showed us his huge two-scoop "small" cone! And great ice cream to boot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Scoops is reasonably priced, and a great spot to grab an ice cream with the kids. You can walk across the street to the park with benches on the lake, nice way to end the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lots”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stopped by Scoops just around closing time and the two young girls were very happy to wait on us. The portions were huge! We ordered medium cones and they were extra large! Ice cream was delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kander6192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoops also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Scoops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing