We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Canandaigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Tomatlan - CLOSED

Rio Tomatlan
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
“Best in Canandaigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've never had a bad meal here. Atmosphere is calming, flavorful and fresh dishes! Great vegetarian options!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you like Mexican food you'll really enjoy this place. Great margaritas as well. I haven't had anything I didn't like

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadaigua ny
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I went in on Sunday by myself for a meal and the host didn't really greet me I had to explain that I was there for lunch for one she sat me at a table and gave me a glass of water with something brown on the side and then I sat waiting for the server to take my order for 20 minutes... In that time she took orders from two other tables. The service was honestly terrible I've been here one other time and experience was so so at best but a friend urged me to give them a second chance. I'm very irritated and would never come here again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great dishes from south of the boarder. This is not Taco Bell by any stretch of the imagination! Very authentic dishes and some that are very different but so so good. If your in Canandaigua and like Mexican food you have to treat yourself to Rio Tomatlan.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best authentic Mexican around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I like everything about Rio Tomatlan. The food is excellent, the service is great, the decor is unpretentious, yet feels authentic, and they make TAMALES!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rocscotjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Tomatlan also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing