We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite in Canandaigua”
Review of Rio Tomatlan - CLOSED

Rio Tomatlan
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
NY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Canandaigua”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Whenever we visit our friends nearby, we always seem to end up here! Maybe it's the margaritas, or probably just the great, fresh food. Tamales- yum, burros- delish, it's all good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a lumpy booth”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

(+) Really good and authentic Mexican, friendly service.
(-) Poorly lit, lumpy booths

The pluses trump the minuses however and food keeps me coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our food choices. It was fresh, the sauces were delicious and the salsa was exceptional! Everything is ala carte which adds up quickly to a larger bill. The atmosphere was a bit dark and the booth we sat at had seen better days. The food quality was great, the rest is surface and fixable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYFingerLakesFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fixer upper”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good. However-our waiter gave us lackluster service-very blah. The seat in the booth was ripped up and taped.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJ818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cool atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I dined at Rio Tomatlian with my family for dinner and the atmosphere was very cool and different than the average restaurant. Our waitress, Erin was friendly and gave some good suggestions on drinks and my meal that I ordered. I had the Enchilada Rijos and that was very good, however it doesn't come with any sides (rice or beans) that needs to be ordered extra. The kids were not very fond of their taco's and didn't finish them. My husband had the taco/chalupa combo meal and he liked the chalupa but did not care for the taco's and he also wouldn't finish them. His taco's had a strong flavored ingredient that was over powering and he didn't care for. Our food came out quickly considering it was a Friday night and was getting busy. One of major pet peeves is when dirty, empty plates are left in front of me after my meal so luckily for me the bus boy removed my plate when I was finished, however everyone else at the table had theirs sit in front of them for a bit longer. I liked how the staff was friendly from the moment we walked in to the time we left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Tomatlan also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing