We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable stay”
Review of Morgan Samuels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morgan Samuels Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A very memorable stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Inn and were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves.. definitely a first! John was very welcoming, and we were instructed to make ourselves at home and make use of all of the common areas. We very much enjoyed the ambiance of the Inn at this time of year, and appreciated the beauty and history of the home, as well as the comfort and cleanliness of all the rooms. We stayed in the Antique Rose Room and found it very cozy and comfortable. We wished we could have made use of the balcony as it had a wonderful view of the property. We thought we had made arrangements for the Innkeepers dinner for the night of arrival, and although John was not prepared to be cooking dinner for us that evening, he did his best to accomodate us. We didn't have the same experience as other guests have had, but we are chalking it up to the short notice he had. As the location of the Inn is a bit of a drive from town, it was more preferable and inviting to stay in, have a martini by the fireplace, and then enjoy the wine we had brought with us for dinner. The breakfasts were fabulous and to be lingered over, enjoying the view of the gardens and listening to John's anecdotes about each course and sharing stories about life in general! The selection of fresh fruit was wonderful and something that we find is usually lacking at a lot of B&B's. We also appreciated having early morning coffee available upstairs in the "gift shop". The grounds are well maintained and there are several outdoor seating areas in the garden that would be a wonderful spot to relax in, weather permitting.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and offer something a bit different. If stairs are a problem you might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    15
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
197
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pocono Mts. Pa.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A gorgeous place to spend some quality romantic days and evenings, with no TV in rooms to distract you. Just jacuzzis, bedside fireplace, and soft playing stereos. Charming old stone home. Tremendous fresh breakfasts, you won't need lunch. If staying, it is recommended to experience the fantastic dinners made by John. This was a terrific anniversary stay, and we will be back. John and Julie are outstanding hosts!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here and rate it as the best b&b experience we have ever had. The innkeepers, Julie and John, are warm and welcoming without being pushy, and their house is simply beautiful. Ordinarily I avoid the common rooms in b&bs (except for breakfast), but the beauty and comfort of the rooms here were great enough to overcome my normal reluctance. We stayed in Evie's Chamber, one of the smaller rooms but very charming and comfortable with some unique features. The breakfast was incomparable, with an incredible variety of fresh fruits (plus some yummy preserved fruits) and a variety of delicious entrees. John and Julie also offer a six-course dinner, which we had the first night. It included his famous beef tenderloin as well as hot and cold appetizers, an outstanding Maryland crab soup, a grilled romaine salad, and apple pie with ice cream. Excellent meal, amazing value. The service they offer is unmatched. Oh! and no review would be complete without including the dog Goldwyn, one of the most delightful dogs we've ever met.

Room Tip: The Garden Room has a separate entrance, so entails going outside to get to the common areas. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a very memorable evening here. From the moment we walked in we were impressed by everything we experienced. The hosts, Julie and John, were delightful. They made us feel completely at home with their warm, gracious manner and tour of their beautiful home. They made sure we were absolutely comfortable in all respects. The highlights though were the dinner and breakfast. Both were sensational, creative, delicious and beautifully presented. In all respects this B&B exceeded our expectations. A spectacular place.

Room Tip: Garden room was very nice and attention to detail was obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, nj
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the Morgan Samuels Inn last weekend. The owners of the inn, Julie and John were the most gracious and engaging innkeepers we have encountered. They really catered to our every need. This is a lovely Inn where you are pampered yet made to feel right at home in this fabulous place. A must do for the breakfasts alone. We are looking forward to going back for John's special dinner next year. If you are looking to get away from the TV, Wifi and enjoy nature and everything the area offers, go to this Inn. There is TV and Wifi, but why bother! We have been to many B&B's and by far John was the most accommodating of them all. He is a gem and so is Julie! Karen & Ed, Hillsborough, NJ

Room Tip: Second floor room is the best; great views and comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

John and Julie were wonderful hosts, both warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing.
Everything from the fresh fruit tray to the omelets and pancakes were delicious. The landscaped
gardens and surrounding corn fields provided a lovely setting for the Inn. Both John and Julie
were exceedingly helpful in providing information regarding traveling in the area. Whether it
was information about the surrounding towns or the local wineries, thier insight was invaluable.
If your looking for a quiet, peaceful setting with congenial innkeepers, the Morgan Samuels
B&B should not be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved this B&B. We stayed in the Victoria Room, which had a private little balcony (to look out, not sit on) and a jacuzzi. The grounds are spectacular, each view more breathtaking than the previous. The home itself boasts an old time charm that we found inviting. The meals were fabulous, with dinner being more of an event than a meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
2.5 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
1.6 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
545 reviews
3.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
13.1 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Samuels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Samuels Inn

Property: Morgan Samuels Inn
Address: 2920 Smith Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgan Samuels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Morgan Samuels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Samuels Hotel Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing