We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Morgan Samuels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morgan Samuels Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband, sister, and I recently spent two wonderful nights with Innkeepers John and Julie Sullivan at the Outstanding Morgan Samuels Inn in Canandaigua, New York.
We were delighted with the rooms, serice, cleanliness, and particularly the attention to every detail by the Innkeepers and staff. The Innkeepers are very friendly and funloving. The setting and grounds are very beautiful. We enjoyed two fabulous dinners and breakfasts. The kitchen is outstanding.
Susan, the new chef prepared special meals for us in accordance with our dietary preferences. The six courses were all delicious, and perfectly prepared. Particularly outstanding were the imaginative appetizers, soups, and salads, along with great main course sauces and seasonings. A richly smooth chocolate cake, and delicious home made apple pie were wonderful deserts. Bring your own bottle of wine, which the staff serves, to complete the great dining experience.
Breakfast included a fabulous fruit tray with 24 varieties of fresh fruit as well as delicious yogurt, several hot options, muffins, and fresh, local breads.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morsambb, Manager at Morgan Samuels Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we really enjoyed to spend time with you. We wish you a good health, and many wonderful travels. Hope to see and pamper you again.
Have a great summer. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    15
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
189
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place is amazing. This was our first visit to the Inn but will not be our last visit. We have stayed at several before and this top'd them all. The breakfast was the best I have ever had. We couldn't believe the fruit tray that was served first. They didn't miss a beat with anything. In fact we liked the breakfast so much that we decided to have them cook us dinner. It was a 7 course dinner that will never be forgotten! Our rooms were very clean and well appointed right down to wine glasses and an opener. Our balcony looked over the gardens which was an excellent way to start the day with a cup of coffee in the morning. John and Julie could not have been nicer to us and we will highly recommend this to everyone.Would love to go back in the fall and experience the fireplaces and the gardens at that time of year. A totally amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morsambb, Manager at Morgan Samuels Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your compliments, we appreciate your review.
We are also glad that you enjoyed our food, and had nice time with us.

Have a sunny weekend. :)

Best wishes, and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our Canadian friends and I picked this WONDERFUL inn as a half way point for both of us. We arrived at "little England"...manor house and gardens and beautiful grounds by driving up a secluded drive.Our gracious hosts met us in the drive and gave us a tour of the inn. Just seeing and hearing about all the amenities and viewing each other's rooms took a half hour...complete with chocolate chip cookies. Our friends had the garden room, complete with private terrace. We had brought our own drinks so enjoyed our reunion there. We had the Cathedral room up top. Quiet, very quaint, GREAT shower and welcome AC. We dressed up for dinner and had the most fantastic 6 course dinner over a 2 hour period. We all have traveled the world and honestly felt this was one of the best dinners we have ever experienced! So beautifully presented, imaginative food, We started with hot and cold first courses, then delicious mushroom soup in tea cups!, grilled romaine salad, steak and all the trimmings...and then dessert and coffee. We had to sleep it off in comfort (great pillows, too) so we could get up and eat again! My husband and I stayed here 10 years ago and it was the best omelete I have ever had. And, I had it again, along with 4 other courses. This is definitely a gastronomic experience. We don't mean to belittle the house or grounds, they are just as fantastic as the food. We will return...once we lose 10 pounds! A treat for all...wonderful place for a house party gathering. It is like experiencing Downton Abbey in NYS!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Cathedral is the smallest, but big bathroom, sunny and great Jacuzzi and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my husband's and my 3rd visit to Morgan Samuel, the first being 20 years ago. They have been and will remain our all time favorite place to stay, even after trying many other B&B's. They are the most gracious people you'd ever want to meet and quickly make you feel right at home. The inn itself is an amazing pace in a most beautiful setting. The breakfasts are, and continue to be a work of art, and so delicious. But what really blew us away this time was the dinner. Who knew there could be so many courses, each more delicious than the last? Soft music playing in the background, we in our own private setting overlooking beautiful gardens. AMAZING! We will be back soon!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quite nice, each with their own special "something".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan52893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this exquisite Inn on 24 and 25 April 2013. John and Julie made us feel right at home from the minute we stepped in the front door. The home, itself, is a step back in time and the furnishings are museum quality antique offering a unique experience. Our room , The Victorian Room, was comfortable with a fireplace and double Jacuzzi bath. The meals, ahhh the meals. We dined in the Tea Room for our stay and John is an absolute magician with cuisine. Dinner was a perfectly prepared beef tenderloin and a seared salmon. We are seasoned diners and frequent finer restaurants but this was literally the best food we have ever eaten. The breakfasts of fresh fruit and hot entrees were also excellent. On a side note, during the fourth course of a privately served(by Chef John, himself) 6 course meal, I proposed to my girlfriend and she said yes! Thank you John and Julie, for an experience we will never forget. It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Consider the Morgan Suite as it is the biggest room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushhog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

As an anniversary gift, our son did the research to find the best B&B within 50 miles of Rochester, and to our delight, gave us a gift of a one night stay in the lovely Garden Room of the Morgan Samuels Inn. On a chilly April day, John warmly made us feel at home in the lavishly furnished and historically decorated surroundings. We were so glad that we chose to reserve and pay extra for the optional 7 course gourmet dinner with John as our private chef. After creating and serving an epicurian delight we so thoroughly enjoyed, we shared some of the wine we brought with him over interesting conversation. He graciously offered to please us as guests in every way. The candlelight breakfast with an array of fresh fruit, berries, hot muffins, and eggs, meat and pancakes or french toast all cooked to order was too scrumptious to resist over-indulging! The views of the countryside with the trees budding were beautiful and refreshing, inviting walks on the long scenic driveway. John surely has the gift of hospitality, and we are sorry that we didn't get to meet his wife, Julie, as from what I read, also must share that gifting.This was an exceptional and relaxing B&B getaway experience.
Sincerely, Kathie and Jim

Room Tip: The Garden Room is beautiful, ornate, immaculate, on the first floor and may be the least expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This review is late but as they say, "better late then never." I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Morgan Samuels this past Fall for my brother in laws wedding. It was so quaint and relaxing. The views were beautiful and the hosts were outstanding. You felt catered to at every turn. The food was outstanding and every aspect of the event was perfect.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway I would strongly recommend the Morgan Samuels Inn. You can sleep in comfort, enjoy gourmet meals, relax without the confusion of the modern day world. If you need to stray off the lovely property you can check out some of the local wineries or the Naked Dove brewery.
I would return here at anytime for an over night, for a weekend, for a month. It was outstanding and I thank them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.5 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
535 reviews
3.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Samuels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Samuels Inn

Property: Morgan Samuels Inn
Address: 2920 Smith Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgan Samuels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Morgan Samuels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Samuels Hotel Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing