We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“30th anniversary and 1st bed and breakfast experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1795 Acorn Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canandaigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1795 Acorn Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“30th anniversary and 1st bed and breakfast experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Wow!!! What a trip! Wish I could give more than 5 stars! My husband surprised me with a romantic get away for our 30th wedding anniversary! We have never been to a bed and breakfast before and I was naturally a little apprehensive as I didn't know what to expect. We stayed in the barn and it was a perfect retreat. Sheryl thought of everything! There was nothing that she didn't think of and have for you in the event you wanted something. Her breakfasts were absolutely delightful and stories were hysterical as to some of her experiences. Sheryl makes you feel as though you are a part of her family. We are sorry to go, but will definitely be back! Thanks for everything! There is nothing more you could have done to make our anniversary any more special! Dave and Cindy

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pottsdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1795Acorn, Owner at 1795 Acorn Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Cindy & Dave, First of all, I was so impressed with Dave and his secret getaway for your 30th Anniversary. What a great job he did. I think he had fun planning it and even more fun seeing how much you appreciated it. It's always wonderful to be someone's first experience at a Bed & Breakfast, especially when they enjoy it as it can be such a unique experience. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I do hope to see you again for skiing this winter or anytime soon. There will be a giant hug waiting for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Sheryl Mordini's inn, & from the moment we arrived to the time we left, we were treated as valued family members. The inn is adorable in every way. Our room, The Hotchkiss, is spacious with seating overlooking a charming patio. We would absolutely return here & choose the same room again. It was comfortable, quiet, convenient, we could not ask for more.

Sheryl spoiled us with gourmet breakfasts every morning & we had such a great time chatting with her over breakfast, getting tips about local wineries, restaurants & sight seeing. We are going to miss her company & conversations, but only until we return.

The Inn is adorned with exquisite art by Margot Mordini. Ask Sheryl about the art & its background, several pieces - from post cards to artworks - are available for purchase.

A must visit if you are in the area, looking for a tasteful & serene place to stay. Thank you Sheryl, for making our stay a memorable one!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raviadvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1795Acorn, Owner at 1795 Acorn Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Ravi... you are making me cry! Anytime you want that Innkeeping boot camp, just let me know. I'd be happy to share my knowledge with you and Tina. That would be so much fun. Especially the wine and cheese while waiting for guests to check in. Hugs to you both and I will look forward to seeing you next time. xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Rooms and common areas were VERY clean, comfortable and inviting. Sheryl and her staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. Breakfasts were spectacular!

Our time in the Finger Lakes region and at the 1795 Acorn Inn was as relaxing or as busy as we wanted, which was exactly what we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wilder and the Hotchkiss rooms and would recommend both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1795Acorn, Owner at 1795 Acorn Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
J & J... Pleasure having you stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the 1795 Acorn Inn. I hope you are enjoying your homemade granola with fond memories. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are sometimes wary about staying in a small B&B because what you gain with the "personal touch" you often lose in privacy. Sheryl at the Acorn Inn has succeeded in blending these both with grace and ease. The Inn itself is beautiful, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The yard is gorgeously landscaped and feels like a peaceful retreat where we enjoyed our coffee in the morning. The rooms were well-appointed and provided anything we could need. Sheryl was an extremely friendly, down-to-earth and professional innkeeper. She even went out of her way on our last day to find us a garage that was open on Sunday so that we could have a flat tire fixed. This is the kind of personal touch that you won't get at a Holiday Inn! We won't stay anywhere else when we are in the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1795Acorn, Owner at 1795 Acorn Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
D & A, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both stay. I hope your tire got repaired quickly and inexpensively and that your drive home was smooth. Hope to see you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWFANE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I get few chances to get away so we put a lot of thought into where we stay. We have traveled often in the Bristol area and have passed by the Inn many times over the years and were always curious about it. We took a chance and were not disappointed with our choice for our one night get away. The Inn has a ton of country charm. It obvious the care and attention to detail the owners have put into the Inn. Our room was comfortable, the bath was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful and Sheryl was very attentive to our needs. If you need accommodations in the area you can stop looking now and make your reservation, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DARYL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Sheryl was willing to accommodate any special request we needed and the house was warm, clean, and inviting. It was a very pleasant stay, and we felt bad that we couldn't enjoy breakfast on the second day because of our travel plans. Sheryl and her mom made an awesome breakfast for us on our first day, though (gourmet quiche, sausage, rolls, and great coffee). The backyard is beautiful, with a hot tub, walkways, and a charming garden. We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strway2Heaven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the 1795 Acorn Inn each year for the past 7 or 8 years. We prefer Bed and Breakfast accommodations over motels or hotels and travel often, but still haven't found a single place that can hold a candle to the 1795 Acorn Inn.

The rooms are gorgeous, impeccably clean, and stocked with everything you could find yourself wanting on a relaxing, quiet getaway. Sheryl's breakfasts are absolutely to die for, and she is one of the most warm, generous, and friendly people we've ever met! The gardens are beautifully landscaped, and the jacuzzi, shared library/sitting room, hot chocolate, snacks, and selection of DVDs make the place feel indulgent and also "like home" at the same time.

We really can't recommend the 1795 Acorn Inn more highly. We expect to keep up our yearly visits indefinitely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
7.5 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
9.9 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
19.5 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1795 Acorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1795 Acorn Inn

Property: 1795 Acorn Inn
Address: 4508 State Route 64, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming AAA Four-Diamond rated B & B. Peaceful country setting, just minutes from Canandaigua. Thoroughly renovated and tastefully appointed. Beautiful antiques and fine furnishings adorn the inn and its soundproofed guest rooms and suites. Terraced perennial gardens. Outdoor Hot Tub by appointment. Close to wineries and many year-round activities. The perfect romantic retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing