We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food if you have time!”
Review of Eddie O'Briens

Eddie O'Briens
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food if you have time!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been to O'Briens twice. Each time, the atmosphere was lively with families and an adult crowd (lunch time and early dinner). The food was fantastic, I had a Caribbean chicken sandwich lots of great flavor and large portions (if you're looking for that in a restaurant). The service was ok and the food took quite a while to come out, but that is to be expected in a busy restaurant. Worth the wait if you have time and enjoy great food in a unique atmosphere right on Main St. in Canandaigua.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albion, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A little noisy, but is to be expected with a bar restaurant combo. Friendly service, and just a nice atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for lunches or early dinners”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our family enjoys going to Eddie O'Briens because the reasonable price and a good food choice. Saturday nights are busy and it's difficult to hear anyone at your table. They also have live music on Saturday nights. Our waitress was good but wasn't aware of cocktail specials or any specialty drinks the restaurant may have. The restaurant is very nice looking with a brick accent wall, tin ceilings and dark wood tables and booths. The burgers are great at Eddie O'Briens as is the French Dip. The side salads are of average size but the dinner salads are small and not so filling.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushville NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food cold beer”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great service, great tasing beer and food. Bartenders are friendly, fast ,
don't ignore you and remember you. It's really a hometown bar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCF9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to the recently opened Farmington location. It was crowded, noisy and food was over cooked. We waited over an hour for our food to arrive. I had an O'brien's Reuben and the corned beef was hard & stringy and the toasted bread was burnt. Other people who were there before us were just getting their dinner when we were finishing. Isn't conducive to conversation just watching TV. We won't be back and will not recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYFingerLakesFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie O'Briens also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Eddie O'Briens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing