We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Ranked #8 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Completely lovely”
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We spent a wonderful Mother's Day weekend at Oliver Phelps B&B. The house is beautiful with comfortable, charming rooms, and generous and beautifully decorated public space. Jack and Donna are excellent, flexible, and helpful hosts, and very good cooks--breakfasts were delicious. The hot tub was perfect and the town and surroundings are beautiful We are actively fantasizing about a return.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fingerlakes Region
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

A little big of heaven on earth. Jack and Donna are #1 inn keepers. Their beautiful home, lovely grounds and sumptuous breakfasts are just what you would hope to get on your trip away from home. They are a home away from home. Do yourself a HUGE favor and stay a night...or two....or three....

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunerful111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canandaigua, ny
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

they say it;s the journey, not the destination...but we beg to differ !! we only live a mile and a half away, and this definitely was our destination! we are a casual folk, but felt warmed and comforted in this big, beautiful house. no fancy attitude or airs here with hosts, jack and donna! friendly, informative and genuinely interested in who we are, we will be back for their fabulous spa package!! i can't wait!!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank ellie123197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

This inn excels in three areas: the hospitality of the hosts; the location; and the excellent breakfasts. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Ex_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We just returned home from a delightful weekend in Canandaigua! There are so many things to see and do in this pleasant, town, and we found a wonderful place to stay. We felt at home as soon as we arrived at the Inn, and Jack & Donna were most welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfasts that were served were very creative, delicious and perfectly prepared. The bedrooms and the whole house (and grounds) are impeccably kept, spacious, and very comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn and plan to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kayak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The Oliver Phelps B&B is one of our all-time favorites. The house itself is a true beauty, and the rooms are very comfortable -- nicely decorated and not overly fussy. It's an historic B&B with an understated elegance that allows you to kick back and relax.

The gourmet breakfasts were creative and delicious, and much to my delight the serving times were flexible.

I'm sure the credit for this inviting atmosphere lies with Jack and Donna, who are unobtrusive but very helpful and friendly innkeepers.

The Finger Lakes is a beautiful area to visit, and a stay at the Oliver Phelps is a great choice for lodging.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank CindyZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronnto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2008

I have been travelling to the Finger Lakes Area since 1997 and stayed in varous inns/ B & B's but Oliver Phelps is without a doubt the best place I have stayed. This latest trip will be the third year in a row that I have stayed here.

Jack and Donna are as warm and inviting as is their beautiful home. They are very helpful with advice on local restaurants, attractions and wineries. They even book our reservations for our group each time we travel. You get a warm and welcoming smile every time they see you.

The breakfasts are one of the many reasons I return here and refer Oliver Phelps to others travelling to the Finger Lakes area. Everything is delicious along with table decorations that reflect the seaon you are visiting. Their service is very pleasant and they are very accomodating with your individual needs.

The rooms are beautiful, the linens up to date and crisp, the mattresses very comfortable and the place is impeccably clean. My favorite room is the suite with the fire place - very spacious, especially the washroom !

The recent addition of the outdoor hot tub spa makes this place another great reason to visit. You are surrounded by the pretty gardens in their backyard, the clear sky and the hot tub spa is covered by a gazebo so you can enjoy it in the rain or snow faill while sipping a great red wine ! It is the most peaceful and relaxing experience and a great way to end your day at Oliver Phelps.

I highly reccomend Oliver Phelps and Jack and Donna are the reason why !

Your Canadian Friend, Rita

  • Liked — The ambience of the home.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VaughanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.6 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
233 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 15 in Canandaigua
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

Property: Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Address: 252 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1220
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, Greek Revival-style home located in heart of Historic District. 12 Foot ceilings, arched doorways, original chestnut floors decorated with a mixture of antiques and contemporary furnishings. Fabulous gourmet breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, homemade pastries and an elegant entree. Enjoy breakfast in our spacious dining room and relax in our three-season spa under starlight. Walking distance to restaurants, attractions (Sonnenberg Mansion & Gardens, Granger Homestead, NYWCC) and the Canandaigua lakefront. Let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing