We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Ranked #8 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A MUST stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our first stay here, and we were so glad we came across it! We stayed at this spectacular B&B as part of our Honeymoon tour of the Finger Lakes the week of Oct 21-29. We were greeted so graciously by both Jack and Donna, and they went out of their way to make our stay outstanding. The house is immaculate, not to mention gorgeous...and can we say attention to details! The breakfasts were truly gourmet. Any info you need to know about things to do, places to go...they have the answer! We are so glad they are part of our honeymoon memories...and can't wait to return again!

P.S. Make sure to soak your day of travelling away in the romantic outdoor hot tub!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wickwood room...though small, it is SO cozy, very comfortable bed, and romantic. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
78
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Well this was my first experience at a B & B and Jack & Donna make you feel right at home. Food was amazing! Service terrific. A nice place to be and just enjoy life with whomever your with! Wish I was still there! Going home to cook was hard after leaving. Come and visit! You won't be sorry! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TODOLPHINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our second visit to Oliver Phelps since 2005. We were welcomed by Jack and Donna as soon as we arrived. I was surprised that they remembered our first visit! To say that this place is special is an understatement. From the moment you walk through the door you notice the attention to detail in a very comfortable, understated way. It truly feels like a home away from home. My husband and I were visiting for my neice's wedding ( a 5 day affair). Returning to Oliver Phelps after all the revelry was a welcome respite. The bedrooms are very cozy and comfortable with special amenities not often found in B&Bs. Some rooms even have fireplaces. We had reservations at the venue where my neice was getting married for the night of the wedding. Instead of having to pack all of our belongings, check out, only to check back in the day after the wedding, Jack and Donna generously allowed us to keep most of our belongings in our room without charge! What a convenience for us! Jack and Donna are very knowledgeable about the
surrounding attractions. AND what can I say about the breakfasts? Best I've ever had, bar none! Every day is something different and gourmet. Thank you again, Jack and Donna. We will definitely be back for a third visit!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house are away from road noise, although the road noise is not that bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingthelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast.....and I'm sure it will all be downhill from here! Because this B&B is very special...and what makes this place so special is Jack and Donna and how well they work together to make everyone feel so at home....in their home! The girls and I had a wonderful time and I'm sure we'll be back for more....if you'll have us crazy Canadians(+one Texan) again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

It was a wonderful experience at this B&B under the attentive (but not intrusive) care of Jack & Donna, in their beautiful home. You can walk to the shops downtown (less than a mile), and drive to the park on canandaigua lake(1 1/2 miles). There is ample common space for guest in the formal living room,dinning room and an additional family room. Breakfast is served in the dinning room which allows for sitting on your own or with guest or outside on the back porch in full view of the garden. Our room was small but very comfortable with quality bedding and a private bath next to the room off the main hall - bathrobes are provided - very nice touch. The breakfast is a multi-course gourmet experience with quality ingredients, wonderful presentation and just taste great! The house is immaculate and Jack & Donna offer wonderful suggesstions on how to enjoy the area. They were very gracious in letting my son and his girlfriend visit us for awhile (they were on there way to Niagara falls). We had a wonderful time relaxing time at this B&B.

Room Tip: I was a bit intimidated at first at how busy the road (four lanes) is where this B&B is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

One of the top B&B's I have ever visited. Jack and Donna run a top notch B&B from the very comfortable rooms to the gourmet breakfast. They will assist you with any questions regarding sightseeing or restaurants. We have held a family reunion here three years running now and everyone loves the place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat73fromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Oliver Phelps. It was just what I needed and wanted after a busy week. The hospitality couldn't have been better. I felt like an honored guest. It is a beautiful and peaceful place, quiet, comfortable and conveniently located. I recommend a stay there wholeheartedly. Sue B., Greenfield, MA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
1.6 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.9 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 15 in Canandaigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

Property: Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Address: 252 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1220
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, Greek Revival-style home located in heart of Historic District. 12 Foot ceilings, arched doorways, original chestnut floors decorated with a mixture of antiques and contemporary furnishings. Fabulous gourmet breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, homemade pastries and an elegant entree. Enjoy breakfast in our spacious dining room and relax in our three-season spa under starlight. Walking distance to restaurants, attractions (Sonnenberg Mansion & Gardens, Granger Homestead, NYWCC) and the Canandaigua lakefront. Let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing