We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Ranked #8 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A recent stay at the Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps underscored the reasons why I love traveling to Canandaigua and the Finger Lakes. Jack and Donna were the sweetest owners Mark and I every met.
Our room was lovely, roomy and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful as well. I wish we were there in the warmer weather to be able to enjoy the yard and outdoor spa!!! The B/B is close to everything and within a comfortable walking distance to local eateries and beautiful sites.
We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderlust034, Owner at Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

It is always very much appreciated when our guests take the time to write about their experience with us and with our community. We thank them and look forward to their return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Enjoy a picturesque stay in Canandaigua on the northern tip of Lake Canandaigua at lovely Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps. There is so much to do in the region which has a microbrewery, many Finger Lakes wineries, hiking and biking, nearby Erie Canal, the New York Wine and Culinary Center with restaurant and classes and more which we need to return to enjoy. The B&B at Oliver Phelps is so comfortable and in a lovely setting. Its owners are a treasury of information on the area and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

April was my birthday month and my wife Lynda made an excellent choice to finalize the birthday celebration. Beautiful house, excellent food and our host and hostess made us feell like we were visiting our best friends. See you on the walk. Fred and Lynda McKinley

Room Tip: Information about Wij connection when checking in. All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 937Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This may not qualify as timely travel advice. I only stayed at the Oliver Phelps once and that was 14 1/2 years ago. The experience was so pleasant, It changed the way I travel.

I had never stayed in a B&B before. I preferred the standard amenities and predictable housekeeping of national hotel brands. I arrived in Canandaigua late in the afternoon just looking for a bunk. There were no nationally branded lodgings. We'd have to "settle for" a B&B or motor on in search of a motel. There was a vacancy at the Oliver Phelps. We took it with misgivings. By morning, we were so enchanted with the place we extended our stay and used the B&B as our base of operations for a wine tasting vacation in the Finger Lakes. Now, whenever I travel with enough advance notice to make reservations, I surf the web looking for a B&B before I "settle for" a hotel. I've stayed in many but none left a more favorable or durable impression than the Oliver Phelps. Judging from the photos and the favorable reviews, nothing has changed. I can't honestly say that about any other place I slept in a decade simply because I have no memory of them. The Oliver Phelps left a unique and uniquely positive impression.

I don't know if I'll ever return to the Finger Lakes, but I know where I'll be staying if I do.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhwilliams51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Wickwood room, which is the one without the bathroom in the room. Our private bathroom was just outside our bedroom door and didn't detract from the stay one bit! We loved our room, especially the fire place. Jack and Donna are excellent hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic! Jack even drew me a map for a morning run! A definite "must-visit!"

Room Tip: If you're watching your budget, consider the Wickwood room, like we did. Not having a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyRLayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying at Oliver Phelps for two years in a row and cannot wait to book for next season. Jack and Donna, our lovely hosts are one of the most generous and delightful couple you could ever meet. I was there for a weekend away with the girls!!! The rooms, service and FOOD were extraordinary. We felt welcome and very much at home, with one big difference - We were pampered!!! I would not hesitate for a moment to reccommend Oliver Phelps to anyone! Great for couples, friends and family. Jack and Donna thanks again for your hospitality, generosity and of course directions to all that great SHOPPING!!! Oh and yes the hot tub is a great feature! Very realaxing!!! Cannot wait to see you next year!!! All the best Franca from Toronto!

Room Tip: All the rooms are splendid! The Romance room is the largest and great for gathering if you are ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesca91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Jack and Donna were wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. The Oliver Phelps Suite was large, comfortable, very clean, and nicely decorated. We looked forward the daily gourmet breakfasts on the deck. Our hosts were very helpful with dining reservations, and suggestions for visiting local attractions. Our next visit to Canandaigua will certainly include the Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroad441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.6 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

Address: 252 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: $180 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, Greek Revival-style home located in heart of Historic District. 12 Foot ceilings, arched doorways, original chestnut floors decorated with a mixture of antiques and contemporary furnishings. Fabulous gourmet breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, homemade pastries and an elegant entree. Enjoy breakfast in our spacious dining room and relax in our three-season spa under starlight. Walking distance to restaurants, attractions (Sonnenberg Mansion & Gardens, Granger Homestead, NYWCC) and the Canandaigua lakefront. Let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing