We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chalet of Canandaigua exceeded all of our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SCRANTON PA
1 review
“The Chalet of Canandaigua exceeded all of our expectations!”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

It was truly our pleasure to stay at the Chalet. The food was phenomenal! The suite was the most comfortable and well equipped we have ever stayed at. The place was extra clean. Our hostesses have certainly found their calling. I felt they truly enjoyed having us as guests. Attention to detail is their specialty!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOSTDUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
444
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We just returned from a two night stay at the Chalet in celebration of our first wedding anniversary/Valentine's Day. The Chalet is warm and inviting, first class accommodations and food. Our suite was spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. Attention detail is evident throughout the Chalet. The three course breakfast prepared by the inn owners are truly gourmet and delicious. We especially enjoyed the fireplace in our suite and the large wood burning fireplace on the main level. Our stay was more wonderful than we ever expected and we are already planning to return next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhpitts37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We just returned from a 1 night stay at the Chalet and what a beautiful place it is! The 3 course breakfast was delicious, the decor was lovely and the grounds and views were just beautiful. Patti and Margaret are wonderful hosts and pay close attention to detail. This home is very clean and one of the best Bed and Breakfasts that we've ever stayed in.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElenaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2009

For our 45th wedding anniversary our daughters gave us a stay at The Chalet of Canandaigua. We had a wonderful time and their gift could not have been better. Upon our arrival, Patti met us and immediately made us feel at home. We then took a walk in the woods enjoying the beautiful autumn weather. We also had dinner at the chalet. We actually sat and talk to Patti and Margaret as they began preparing for the meal. They made us feel as though we knew them for years instead of a couple of hours.
Our meal was outstanding! All aspects of the meal (i.e., the meat, sides and dessert) contained something extra to make it special. The fire place, candles and the view of the countryside made the evening that much more special.
Breakfast didn't disappoint us either. Again, Patti and Margaret added something extra for each course to make both us and our stay special.
We will definitely return and have already told many of our friends about The Chalet of Canandaigua. Patti and Margaret enjoy their work and definitely make you feel at home. We couldn't end our comments without mentioning Missy, the family dog, who like her owners makes you feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeckRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay here and even booked an extra night, when we learned of a last minute cancellation, because it was that nice. Get the balcony Suite if this is a romantic trip, or the Woodsview Suite if a great place to stay on a wine tasting tour. We are convincing two other couples to come back here with us and want to book the entire place. It's clean, quiet, romantic, well-equipped, friendly and just about everything you want after a day on the road. Really, it was so nice and Maggie and Patti were so accomodating, I want to hang out with them next time we go. Clean, orderly, cozy, it's exactly the design of a 'vacation home' if I could build it - so I'll just rent it now and then!

I have to say, I'm REALLY picky, and this place made my top list. Thanks so much for giving us wonderful memories of our trip, our time in this area and a pretty high bar for any other B&B's to follow. I wish I was there this weekend and had that breakfast to look forward to, or the late night dessert waiting for when you return! Yummy, yummy, yummy in my tummy. Seriously, just might take up residence here permanently if I win the Lotto.

Had a great time. Happy to recommend to others. Want to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Chalet of Canandaigua is wonderful, the three suites have every conceivable comfort, the breakfasts are imaginative and tasty, but it is the hosts Pattie and Margaret who set this B&B apart. Their hospitality stems from their genuine interest in people, their warmth and their good humour. They succeed in making every guest feel special. We live in Britain and travel relatively widely both in Europe and in the US - our stay at the Chalet was without doubt our best ever B&B experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYStateTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We had a phenomenal experience at the Chalet during our week stay there. It was clean, fresh, with superb decorating and a cozy atmosphere. Often we'd curl up on the couch with the soft blankets, the fireplace and a book and just relax. Every space inside and outside on the grounds felt like it was our own special little space and felt like we were at home. Margaret and Patti felt like family & were very engaging, and there wasn't a thing they didn't think of in creating this B&B or in making our stay enjoyable. There were snacks out in the afternoon and a homemade dessert awaited us every night, which we enjoyed by the fire in the great room. The women were wonderful resources for things to do and directions all over the Finger Lakes area, gave dinner recommendations for only top quality places. These restaurants are some of the best we've ever been to, including the Brown Hound and Lumberyard Grill. Breakfast-WOW! They work the menu around your dietary needs and preferences, and their culinary skill inspired me to try things I wouldn't otherwise. They had fresh flowers on our table each morning and we sat on the porch most mornings with the big space heater - it was perfect to overlook the pond and listen to the morning sounds of nature. The breakfasts were so good that we rarely ate lunch. Bananas Foster over Waffles and the French Toast with Peach Compote - awesome! We were pleased that they strive for a balance between carbs and protein in the breakfasts.
We stayed in the Woodsview Suite and couldn't have been happier. There are a variety of extra amenities in the bathroom and the soaps smelled amazing! The double shower was great! The room has a great programmable gas fireplace. So nice! The other major wine trails and hiking locations (nearly all that we went to have beautiful waterfalls) are all within an hour drive. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we would without a doubt recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to the Finger Lakes area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunkerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
380 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
233 reviews
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Property: The Chalet of Canandaigua
Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing