We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We <3 NY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We <3 NY!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We made a stop for 2 nights on our New York State tour.
From the beginning it was a wonderful experience.
Great location, nice bedroom and great 3 course breakfast.
Margaret and Patti make you feel at home and give you access to several rooms.
They gave us a lot of information what to do around the Finger Lakes.

Thank you so much ladies.
We send you a lot of good wishes from Switzerland! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
439
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wettswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Expectations were definitely high. The pictures on the homepage as well as the TripAdvisor reviews are fabulous. But everything we expected has been exceeded!

The chalet is indeed an oasis to leave the daily grind way behind! Everything is so tastefully and detailed furnished. Margaret and Patti are wonderful hosts. Their warm welcome made us feel right away at home! They made excellent recommendations, arranged restaurant reservations and even organized a taxi transfer, so we could both enjoy the wines from the region! The breakfast was amazing! Delicious, creative and everything so pretty arranged! The little dessert in the evening was a real sin but every calorie worth!

If you are planning a trip to the finger lake region, you have to stay at the Chalet of Canandaigua otherwise you will miss something very special!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was the first time for my husband and I to have a BB as our accomodations. Our family made the reservation as a present for our 50th Anniversary.
From the very beginning it was a wonderful experience.
Great location,good bed and great 3 course breakfast as described by others.
Margaret and Patti make you feel at home and give you access to several rooms. They gave us information on dining faciliteis as well as sites to tour etc.
They thought of every amenitie you can think of. If it's not in sight then just ask.
Thank you so much ladies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Celebrated a big Bday at the chalet an it typicafies the graceful aging experience!
In addition to the very best and elegant breakfast anywhere, they arranged my dawn hot air balloon ride!
A perfect day.
The rooms and setting are a lovely blend of an authentic log home and elegant creature comforts.
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Chalet for our 24th Anniversary and it was well worth it. Margaret and Patti are the best hostess and cooks. We did not want to leave. Once you step inside your room you forget everything else. This trip was relaxing and peaceful-you don't hear a thing throughout the home. The owners know their stuff. Keep up the good work ladies. We will be back soon. Mark & Sheila

Room Tip: Well worth your money! Lee suite is the best, quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

For our first trip to the Finger Lakes we wanted to make sure it was special. So we booked the best seats at the "Journey" rock concert and booked the best accommodation we could find after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We knew what to expect from "Journey" and they delivered and then the wonderful hostesses at the Chalet met every expectation and more. Our room was spacious and restful, the breakfast was to die for, the outdoor porch was magic, and the service was attentive. All in all, we were treated to a wonderful first visit and look forward to the next.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable, delicious breakfasts. Patti and Margaret are warm, gracious, and very knowledgeable about the Canandaigua area. My husband and I hated to leave and get back to real life. We are already planning our return trip. If you're looking for beauty and solitude in nature's setting, this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#4 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Property: The Chalet of Canandaigua
Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing