We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect balance for him and her.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brewerton
2 reviews
“The perfect balance for him and her.”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I found the Chalet when looking for a B&B as part of a 40th birthday weekend for my wife. It seemed like the perfect combination. My wife has been dropping anvil-sized hints about going to a bed and breakfast, but old Victorian homes and textured wallpaper just weren't calling to me. The rugged look of the log cabin Chalet really caught my eye. Set in the woods, overlooking a pond, it was a quiet, tranquil place, and would be beautiful in any season. We had reserved the Woodsview room, but a glitch with a Travelocity.com reservation caused a double-booking, so we were upgraded to the Lee Suite instead. I can assure you that the room was fantastic. It was spacious, well-appointed, and though the walls were log, it was quite elegant and very romantic. We had a wonderful weekend, visiting wineries, dining at the Bristol Harbor Restaurant (less than 10 minutes away), and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chalet. The owners, Patty and Margaret, were wonderful, always working to ensure our visit was perfect. We were greeted warmly, they were accessible and easy to talk to without being intrusive, and our every need was taken care of promptly and cheerfully. A nice dessert awaited us when we returned from dinner (warm apple pie), and we awoke to a wonderful, three-course breakfast that was a feast for the eyes and mouth. We couldn't have been happier with our stay, and we hope to return for another visit, possibly in the Fall to see the leaves. I highly recommend the Chalet of Canandaigua for anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricochet314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
439
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had been researching places to stay in the area of Canandaigua, where we had been planning a ski trip to Bristol Mountain. The website for the Chalet of Canandaigua was very enticing and appealed to what we wanted for our weekend getaway. Upon arriving we were greeted by the incredibly friendly owners of the B&B, who gave us a tour of the beautiful log building. The decor and ambiance were very warm and cozy and had a five star appeal. Our suite was incredible -- king size bed, kitchenette and fireplace (our favorite) were all intact. The bathroom was also amazing, with a huge tub that was perfect for a long soak after a day of skiing. After dinner on the town, we were greeted by desserts waiting for us upon arriving back at the Chalet. Delicious! The ladies were very accommodating to me personally - I have a lot of dietary restrictions and they were able to provide me with scrumptious alternatives to what my boyfriend had. The three course breakfast was equally impressive. We especially liked the bananas foster on waffles. Overall, the Chalet was an incredible experience. It was only a 20-25 minute drive from Bristol Mountain and the perfect getaway if you are looking to get out of the city and enjoy the peace and serenity of the countryside. The owners create a very welcoming atmosphere and are obviously committed to appeasing guests` needs. We will be recommending the Chalet to all of our family and friends and hope to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg-mcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The atmosphere was cozy, the food was delish and the hostesses were accommodating and sweet!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uketasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Pattie and Margaret have far surpassed any other b&b or hotel we've stayed at......simply phenomenal! We were pampered from the second we walked in the door....dvd library, games, custom toiletries, the best sheets you will EVER sleep on, and the bathtub in the Lee Suite....you'll want to smuggle it out with you! The breakfast.....we're still so full from it! My husband wants meat pie now for Christmas morning!! Such an amazing relaxing experience..the perfect getaway, and we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslaurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-December and didn't want to leave. Pattie and Margaret have thought of every little detail possible that makes The Chalet the best B&B we've ever stayed at. Incredible rooms, delicious breakfasts and great hostesses. Frommer's and all of the preceding Trip Advisor reviews were spot-on as this is THE PLACE to stay while in Canandaigua.

Thank you again Pattie and Margaret (and Missy) for two wonderful days at The Chalet. We're already looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Staying at the chalet was a perfect way to take advantage of our first night away from the kids in about 2 years. After giving all of our attention to our children for so long, we surely felt that we were finally the ones being pampered. Even the smallest details have been thought of at this 5 star home away from home. The best part is, since we lack the ability to get away for long, escaping to the Chalet was perfect since it is literally right around the corner from where we live in downtown Canandaigua.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Chalet to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We are regulars at B&B's, and we both agree this is the most comfortable and luxurious B&B we've experienced. Patty and Margaret have taken care of every detail, from extra soft robes, coffee, tea, and kitchenettes in the rooms to dessert in the evening and exquisite three-course breakfasts each morning. We felt like royalty. With only three guest rooms, you are assured a quiet, cozy experience, and a unique experience tailored to you. We are looking forward to returning for our 2nd anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_and_Nate11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
3.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#4 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
#1 of 2 in Fairport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Property: The Chalet of Canandaigua
Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424-9020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing