We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed in the Gifford room for a weekend, and I wish it could have been longer!

The house is absolutely gorgeous, the inn-keepers are extrememly friendly, the atmosphere is pure luxury, the area is charming, and the food is delicious.

The things Jaynee and Guy set up for us were wonderful! We had the romance package and there were chocolate covered strawberries in the fridge and a dozen red roses in our room upon arrival, and there were sweets in the dining room at night with fresh lemonade and coffee. Outside our room there was a little kitchenette with a fridge stocked with water and soda, a shelf full of movies, and coffee and tea. In each room there a candy dishes full of chocolates and, if there was nothing else to do in the area, I would have been more than content to stay in the house.

We had massages in our room, watched movies and drank champaigne in the jacuzzi, went on a ghost walk, went shopping in the town, and visited Sonnenberg Gardens.

Jaynee and Guy had several ideas about where to eat and what to do in the area, and even made our dinner reservations.

If you need a place to go, stay at the Inn on the Main! The finger lakes are gorgeous, and you will be sure to have a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kimberly9423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 464 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2008

We had a wonderful time there! The breakfast was great. The location was very comfortable. It was just a nice walk to the lake. There was a lot to do in the area. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freds_human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Jaynee and Guy were so kind! We arrived an hour and a half after they retired to their quarters (we got there at 10:30PM) and Guy still greeted us with a welcoming smile and gave us a quick tour of the house. The breakfast the next two mornings was the best we've ever had (french toast with berries and bananas with an apple cider reduction was the first morning...).

Our room was so relaxing and the hot tub was just perfect after a crazy wedding day. Their assistant Andrea kindly placed my wife's wedding bouquet in a vase with water while we were out and about taking in Canandaigua.

The proximity to downtown Canandaigua was perfect. We got to enjoy a relaxing walk down to the many interesting shops just blocks down the main stretch.

We can't wait to return and miss the House and the Straws already!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jakediddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The 1840 Inn on the Main is a beautiful B&B. The accommodations are first rate and it's located in the beautiful small city of Canandaigua, right in the heart of the Finger Lakes. Close by are shops, restaurants, water-front activities, winery tours and other activities.

We have been guests at the Inn on two occasions, and after each visit we yearn to return. In addition to the superb rooms, we thoroughly enjoy relaxing on the large front porch with a glass of wine.

You will not find more friendly and caring innkeepers than Jaynee and Guy. They provide their quests with fresh homemade goodies for a late evening snack and will direct you to restaurants and other points of interest in the Canandaigua area. They will even make dinner reservations for you. Your every wish will be taken care of.

In the morning you will be presented with an incredible breakfast. Their heart and soul goes into every serving.

We guarantee that your stay at the Inn on the Main will be fantastic and very memorable.

Enjoy!
The Z's

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheZs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Date: September 2008
From: Jim, a retired teacher from the Buffalo, NY area

Summer is quickly drawing to a close, and my wife and I are looking forward to the breathtaking Western New York fall colors. Last year we took a very special fall trip to the Inn On The Main, bed and breakfast, in Canandaigua, New York. This is in the finger lakes region of our state, and is a beautiful area no matter what the season. However, we feel that the fall colors really enhance the charm of Canandaigua, which is a beautiful turn of the century town at the northern end of Canandaigua Lake. Main Street runs from the tip of the lake, directly north through the center of town. A short distance from the lake you will find The Inn On The Main. It is an architectural treasure. Guy and Jaynee Straw, the owners and inn keepers, have done a marvelous job of restoring their Victorian home to its original grandeur. Each of the 5 bedrooms is uniquely decorated, and some have large Jacuzzi tubs. One bedroom also has a beautiful sunroom that provides a wonderful view of the area. The downstairs sitting room is comfortably furnished and provides a nice place for guests to get acquainted. Breakfast is always something very special. The dinning room has a wonderful working fireplace and is a great setting for a fine breakfast and some stimulating conversation with new friends.

The wineries, historical sites, beautiful Victorian architecture, unique stores, lake activities and antique shops make Canandaigua and the Inn On The Main a destination that is definitely worth the drive. All of the impressive amenities at the Inn, as well as the warmth and friendliness shown by Jaynee and Guy made our stay at the Inn on the Main a great value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonawanda_NYJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed at this outstanding B&B for four nights and three days. I can't say enough wonderful things about this Inn and our accommations.

This Victorian Inn is just everything you will need it to be. Our room was outstanding in every way. The Inn and our room was spacious, impeccably clean and elegantly decorated.

The Innkeeper's attention to detail was outstanding down to the yummie cookies and treats left out for us for each day and night. The breakfasts are to die for.

The Inn is very well run. The Innkeepers are professional, hospitable, and will do everything to make your stay enjoyable.
Don't hesitate to book a stay at this B&B. You won't be sorry. We will feel lucky to go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mata_hari2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Everything about our stay at the Inn on the Main was wonderful, most notably the friendly and reliable service provided by the innkeepers. My favorite aspects of the stay were the breakfasts and the incredible service. The cooking and baking was the best we've had at any B&B. The breakfast was prepared precisely at 9 am and not made buffet style so you are served hot/fresh food when you sit down.

If you decide to visit the Finger Lakes without a general game plan there is no need to worry. You can go completely unprepared and the in-keepers can help. They are very helpful and informative and have an abundance of information ready for you in case you decide to wing it (which is what we did to an extent) They will also gladly book your reservations for you at any restaurant or winery in the area.

The Inn is very close to the lake (walking distance 20 minutes, driving 5 minutes or less) The Inn is close to the best restaurants and just a few minutes walk from the business district. Most importantly you are a few blocks from the beautiful Sonnenberg Gardens and Mansion. We recommend taking a walk from the B&B (about 10 minutes) and visiting Sonnenberg.

Our room was beautiful and impeccably clean. Cleanliness is another positive of the Inn. We had the room with the fireplace and hot tub. The bed was really comfortable too! We highly recommend this room!!

A kitchen area located right outside your door in the common area is kept stocked with assorted teas, milk, soda, bottled water and candies. Coffee is made right outside your door every morning in this same kitchen area. The Inn also provides magazines, books, playing cards and a collection of DVD movies and daily afternoon baked snacks (i.e.: brownies/cookies).

So, to recap, cleanliness, great breakfasts, wonderful and friendly services and location are the positives. No negatives to report. If I were forced to choose my favorite aspect of my stay it would be the breakfasts!! Simply amazing. I can’t think of a reason not to stay at the Inn On The Main the next time my wife and I visit the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRudy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
404 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
561 reviews
15.5 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: $200 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing