We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Fabulous B&B - one of the best we've ever stayed in. Jaynee and Guy are very helpful in every way - from restaurant recommendations to meeting our every need at the B&B. Highly recommend! We go out of our way to stay here rather than stay at a hotel near the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 474 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

While not inexpensive, this B & B is worth every penny. This is an incredible old house with quaint decor and large rooms with high ceilings. The rooms were spotless, quiet and have ensuite washrooms. We were a group of four couples and I'm sure we were noisy at times but outside of our area there was very little sound and no complaints from the hosts or other guests. The hosts seemed to be genuinely nice people who attempted to take care of our every need.

Breakfast was served at 9 AM and did not allow for any selection of foods. What was served was hot, tasty and filling. Fussy or large eaters may not be entirely happy in the lack of selection but our group was very satisfied and I'm sure the hosts would do whatever they could to accomodate if asked.

All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask about the winery tour that the hosts set up for us. You will be picked up at the B & B, tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wingman_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We are so happy you chose Inn on the Main for your yearly trip with old friends. It was a pleasure having you all, and we certainly do our best to tend to any dietary or special requests from guests, should the need arise. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope you find yourselves this way again in the Finger Lakes Region. There's so much to explore, and, oh yes - the WINE!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I would my it known to the United States if I could that Inn on the Main is a wonderful place to be. Jaynee and Guy do a wonderful job and so do their staff. You will not forget your stay once you stay here. I make it a tradition to come hear every November and I never want to leave...Breakfast, the room, service, beautiful, happy and comfortable. You will find it all here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We always enjoy returning guests coming back to Inn on the Main, and want to thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experiences. We hope to see you in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Janie and Guy Straw's bed and breakfast several times and this summer we took our my mother-in-law, our daughter and her boyfriend. Once again, we had a great time. The big table in the dining room had been unexpectedly reserved for our family and we delighted in a leisurely breakfast both mornings -- never even a hint of a rush. The bedrooms were first-rate, tastefully decorated and very clean. Guy reserved a table for us at Casa de Pasta, a very good Italian restaurant in town, as well as suggesting other places to eat and things to do. We enjoyed the weekend, will go back and highly recommend the Inn on the Main!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthietwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We so enjoyed your family at the Inn, and hope it will be a yearly tradition! Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write your review. It's very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Even though it is on Main Street, it is quiet. We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were great. The food was fabulous with a coffee/tea service right outside your door for first cup of the morning while you dress. There were also little cakes, muffins, chocolates for midnight snacks. Guy and Jaynee were a delight and breakfast was terrific. Couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

More travelers from afar chose Inn on the Main for their visit. I can't say enough how much we appreciate guests, like yourself, taking the time to write a review. Yes, even though we are on Main St., we have done all we can to muffle the sound in each room, such as soundboard in all our guest rooms. What makes our location so popular is that we are in the heart of the historic district, a short walk to most attractions, shops, and restaurants, as well as the Lake. If ever in the Finger Lakes again, we sure hope you'll return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our 5th (maybe 6th) stay at The Inn on the Main. Buy and Jaynee welcome us like we are family returning home! Words to describe Guy and Jaynee and their home: immaculate, welcoming, informative, inviting, great cooks and bakers! I think one of the best aspects is the coffee bar outside the 2nd floor bedrooms. Guy even starts the coffee early in the a.m. so it is ready when the guests get up, even before we make our way down to breakfast. And what a breakfast! We never eat lunch when we stay here because we are so full! They are always giving directions, recommendations of where to go, what to see and will even make reservations for dinner for guests. Always a perfect, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful. They even now have a first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

You two have become more like family to us than guests, and we love having you return. Thank you for your kind words, and helping others that may want to try out the Inn. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We do a lot of traveling, and prefer to stay at B&Bs. Our host, Guy made us feel right at home in this gorgeous home where the guests are kings. The proprietors have thought of everything. We particularly liked the coffee stations on each floor, and the evening goodies. All the rooms are beautifully decorated with every necessity you can think of. Very highly recommend!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong - all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravBugs0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

I know you traveled from afar, and we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. When your travels bring you back to our lovely area, I hope you will come again. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
405 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
568 reviews
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Sutherland House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#6 of 15 in Canandaigua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range: $180 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing