We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

While not inexpensive, this B & B is worth every penny. This is an incredible old house with quaint decor and large rooms with high ceilings. The rooms were spotless, quiet and have ensuite washrooms. We were a group of four couples and I'm sure we were noisy at times but outside of our area there was very little sound and no complaints from the hosts or other guests. The hosts seemed to be genuinely nice people who attempted to take care of our every need.

Breakfast was served at 9 AM and did not allow for any selection of foods. What was served was hot, tasty and filling. Fussy or large eaters may not be entirely happy in the lack of selection but our group was very satisfied and I'm sure the hosts would do whatever they could to accomodate if asked.

All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask about the winery tour that the hosts set up for us. You will be picked up at the B & B, tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingman_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are so happy you chose Inn on the Main for your yearly trip with old friends. It was a pleasure having you all, and we certainly do our best to tend to any dietary or special requests from guests, should the need arise. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope you find yourselves this way again in the Finger Lakes Region. There's so much to explore, and, oh yes - the WINE!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
321
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I would my it known to the United States if I could that Inn on the Main is a wonderful place to be. Jaynee and Guy do a wonderful job and so do their staff. You will not forget your stay once you stay here. I make it a tradition to come hear every November and I never want to leave...Breakfast, the room, service, beautiful, happy and comfortable. You will find it all here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We always enjoy returning guests coming back to Inn on the Main, and want to thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experiences. We hope to see you in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Janie and Guy Straw's bed and breakfast several times and this summer we took our my mother-in-law, our daughter and her boyfriend. Once again, we had a great time. The big table in the dining room had been unexpectedly reserved for our family and we delighted in a leisurely breakfast both mornings -- never even a hint of a rush. The bedrooms were first-rate, tastefully decorated and very clean. Guy reserved a table for us at Casa de Pasta, a very good Italian restaurant in town, as well as suggesting other places to eat and things to do. We enjoyed the weekend, will go back and highly recommend the Inn on the Main!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthietwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We so enjoyed your family at the Inn, and hope it will be a yearly tradition! Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write your review. It's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Even though it is on Main Street, it is quiet. We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were great. The food was fabulous with a coffee/tea service right outside your door for first cup of the morning while you dress. There were also little cakes, muffins, chocolates for midnight snacks. Guy and Jaynee were a delight and breakfast was terrific. Couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
More travelers from afar chose Inn on the Main for their visit. I can't say enough how much we appreciate guests, like yourself, taking the time to write a review. Yes, even though we are on Main St., we have done all we can to muffle the sound in each room, such as soundboard in all our guest rooms. What makes our location so popular is that we are in the heart of the historic district, a short walk to most attractions, shops, and restaurants, as well as the Lake. If ever in the Finger Lakes again, we sure hope you'll return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our 5th (maybe 6th) stay at The Inn on the Main. Buy and Jaynee welcome us like we are family returning home! Words to describe Guy and Jaynee and their home: immaculate, welcoming, informative, inviting, great cooks and bakers! I think one of the best aspects is the coffee bar outside the 2nd floor bedrooms. Guy even starts the coffee early in the a.m. so it is ready when the guests get up, even before we make our way down to breakfast. And what a breakfast! We never eat lunch when we stay here because we are so full! They are always giving directions, recommendations of where to go, what to see and will even make reservations for dinner for guests. Always a perfect, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful. They even now have a first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
You two have become more like family to us than guests, and we love having you return. Thank you for your kind words, and helping others that may want to try out the Inn. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We do a lot of traveling, and prefer to stay at B&Bs. Our host, Guy made us feel right at home in this gorgeous home where the guests are kings. The proprietors have thought of everything. We particularly liked the coffee stations on each floor, and the evening goodies. All the rooms are beautifully decorated with every necessity you can think of. Very highly recommend!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong - all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravBugs0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I know you traveled from afar, and we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. When your travels bring you back to our lovely area, I hope you will come again. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

If your looking for a B&B with cute knicknacks and strong coffee that gives you the jitters, this is not the place. The "Inn on The Main" is put together for your comfort. Yes, they had ear plugs on the nite stand. I never stayed up tp see if I snore, but my wife thought it was a great idea. Easy directions, paved parking with a short distance to a room that was so comfortable you don't want to leave. The breakfast was over the top. Its was very delightful, ending with a blueberry scone that tasted so good it should have had a birthday candle on it.
Guy and his wife have a wonderful connection with the surronding community. Because my my wife and I only stayed for two nights, their connection with winerys and restaurants made our trip one we won' forget! Tom & Jan Rourke

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyRourkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you at the Inn, and appreciate your comments, which will help others that may decide to stay with us at Inn on the Main. We sure hope you'll return, and I'll have more freshly baked goodies for you next time, too! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 15 in Canandaigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing