We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best B&B ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best B&B ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are from the UK and have stayed in countless B&Bs around the world and the Inn on Main was our best ever. Guy and Jaynee were so welcoming, the breakfasts have to be tried to be believed, the room was comfortable and interestingly decorated. Although the Finger Lakes area is not normally on the UK visitors list of "must visit" US locations they don't know what they are missing - and the Inn on Main is ideally located for exploring the area.

Jack and Angela

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your kindness. We love our international travelers, and seem to be welcoming more and more every year! If we're ever in the UK, we'll look you up, and please come back, should you come back to the Finger Lakes area. The Finger Lakes is a great middle ground when internationals want to see NY city and Niagara Falls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
332
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A lovely, tastefully decorated b&b, with all the amenities expected and more. A quiet and restful stay, exactly what we wanted. Breakfasts were quite elegant too. Owners Guy and Jaynee did much of the work on the home, amazingly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56003Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
To our international visitors, we thank you for your kind words, and if we're ever in Europe, we will certainly look you up for a visit! We meet such wonderful people in this business, and you are among the best! We hope you will tell your UK friends about the Finger Lakes, so they may explore everything we have to offer, and Canandaigua was noted one the most Romantic Cities recently!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

stayed two nights in mid-June, could not have asked for better hosts, room and breakfast were both wonderful. Guy and Jaynee were gracious hosts, loved the suite with sitting room. The room was probably cleanest room I have ever stayed in. Will definitely stay again when in finger lakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swim5parent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Your description of our Penfield Suite was sincerely appreciated, and we hope you stay again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at the Inn on the Main. Guy and Jaynee did not disappoint!! The room was beautifully appointed [the room with the Jacuzzi and King bed] and it was immaculately clean. The breakfast was delicious and thoughtfully addressed our dietary needs. This B & B is a model for bed and breakfast establishments. Our heartiest congratulations to the proprietors on a job well done.

Jim and Kathleen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_S_1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's guests, like yourselves, that make this venture worth it, and will welcome you back for many more visit at Inn on the Main.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The energy of the owners heart and soul flowed in all of the services they provided.
The detail of the buildings' workmanship is VERY high quality and everything was meticulously clean.
I like that the bathroom was modern in it's function but tastefully decorated in period. That combination is a rare find in a B& B!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We so appreciate the detail you described, so others can understand that we've tried to keep the integrity of the "old charm" of this old Victorian, but offer the most modern amenities that guests enjoy, which is not always possible in an old home. Thank you for your thoughts and taking the time to put them on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our stay at the 1840 was a very enjoyable experience. Janie and Guy were gracious hosts and
were very helpful with info on where to eat and things to do. The breakfasts were fabulous and
the little touches such as having coffee and snacks always available were much appreciated.
We were traveling with friends and the sitting room in our downstairs suite was a great place
to get together for a cocktail and plan our evening.

Room Tip: The first floor suite is excellent if you are traveling with others because the large sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We're so happy you brought friends along to share the Canandaigua experience, and all it has to offer. You stayed in our Penfield Suite, which is a new fav since we opened it last year! Take care, and we hope to host you again in the near future, AND, surely - bring more friends! We loved having you, and appreciate your comments to help others, as they decide where to stay in the Finger Lakes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Morris On
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the beautiful scenery in and around Canandaigua to the gourmet breakfasts we received each morning, our two night getaway was exactly what we had hoped for, and more. Guy made us feel immediately welcomed when we arrived and both he and Jaynee made sure that our every need was met. The Gifford Room was extremely comfortable, roomy and decorated to perfection. Fresh baked cookies, tea, coffee and soft drinks always available really made it feel like home. The friendliness of everyone we met - at the Inn and everywhere we travelled - just made our trip that much more enjoyable. Guy and Jaynee have hospitality down to a "T", and have perfected the art of innkeeping! Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Having been invited to look at all of the roomw, I can honestly say any room would be to our liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
What we liked best was the quaint, friendly feel of Canandaigua. It's like an old Mayberry! We so enjoyed having you, and hope you will return in the near future! We can't thank you enough for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
1.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
384 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
3.7 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
540 reviews
2.8 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#6 of 15 in Canandaigua
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. 1840 Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening, as well as fresh fruit, and non-alcoholic beverages. The Inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD with A/C, and wireless internet. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing