We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canandaigua Lake restaurant”
Review of Schooners Restaurant - CLOSED

Schooners Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Canandaigua Lake restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Schooners has just reopened at the head of Canandaigua Lake. Nice ambience- very nice, reasonably priced for a family.7 of us sat at a big round table and enjoyed good service. I had the stuffed haddock and it was good. Others had the salmon and liked it. Nothing fancy but quite pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyphh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We decided to revisit schooners after they reopened following the fire and remodeling. The only thing that looked new was the carpet. The bathrooms are old and worn down. Maybe the kitchen was remodeled but that is misleading to present as if the inside is new. When we looked at the menu, we noticed the prices increased which surprised us, the salmon Mediterranean was 20 dollars. Way too high for this place. The next disappoint was when the bread came.....wait it wasn't the nice hot bread, they were stale rolls that tasted like cardboard with foil packets of butter. When I go out I want to get things I dont get at home. I can by rolls like that at Walmart. We used to enjoy the fresh bread and butter bowl. Wow....schooners has changed but for the worse.....so sorry for the bad review but with Nolan's and the Inn on the lake and the culinary center, time to step it up if you want consistent business... Maybe we will try you again, maybe not

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Service was slow. My husband had a small portion of haddock that was just ok. I had eggplant parm, eggplant was greasy and mushy. I had to ask for a fresh salad , the first salad had brown lettuce that they tried to hide under a few fresh pieces of lettuce. Had to flag waitress down every time we needed something. Never stopped by the table to see if we wanted something. Gave us the wrong check.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice bar but thats where it ends.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I dined at Schooners with my family on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy but not packed and we were put on a wait list to be seated. There were open tables throughout the restaurant so there was either a lack of wait staff (which would make sense with the service we received after being seated) or the hostess didn't want to bother with us at the moment. My husband and I waited in the bar area with our two children. The bartender was very friendly and gave quick service. There was crackers and cheese spread on a table and chex mix on the bar. As we waited for 10 minutes for a table, I watched other families without children walk in and be seated. We eventually were seated and received poor service from the server. We had to ask for things numerous times because she would forget. Our drinks were completely gone and she never came back to the table after taking the order for at least 15 minutes so we finally had to stop her as she was rushing by our table and request another drink. Our food was good but the menu has changed since we last dined there and the prices have increased and the selection has decreased. I ate the jumbo broiled shrimp and they were large but for a side there were 3 small salt potatoes, for that price we could have gone elsewhere and received a lot more food. The server never came back to check how our dinner was going until we were almost finished. Families traveling with infants or toddlers should know there are no changing tables so a baby has to be taken to the car to be changed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable Lunch on a Winter Day”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went with 2 colleagues for lunch on a wintery Friday, Service was good, the fish fry average. The "kid" on the desk at the door and his ballcap didn't portray a good image. Waitress was far better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Restaurant also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing