We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer Selection”

MacGregor's Grill & Tap Room
Ranked #25 of 105 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went to this bar while visiting the Inn on the Lake. Amazing selection of Draft beers on Tap. Cheap pitchers of Bud Light! Fun Times!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank willhaase19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    53
    35
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Meeting Spot”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a very large group of people coming together for a wedding. This was reported to have the best beer selection in town. I estimate we had 15+ couples all arriving to town and we all met there. We had a great time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bad Impression”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We walked in on Thursday night at eight o'clock with a party of seven. The host greeted us with a look like he didn't want to be bothered to the point of being rude. This unhappy person said that it would be a least 25 to 30 minutes even though many tables were empty. I said whatever the wait was I had no problem, we'd be at the bar. We stood at the 3/4 empty bar for over 15 min before the bar tender asked if we'd like a drink. He was busy cleaning and putting away glasses and working the service bar. These two guys should fine a new career that they like! I'm a local and I agree that the place is losing it from year to year. Once we were seated, we had a good waitress and the food was good bar food. This is a place for sandwiches, burgers, beer and wings. When McGregor's first opened they had it going, but somehow the management has lost interest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, ok food and terrible service”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We eat at McGregor's once a year when we visit Canandaigua. We always choose an outside table on the patio - it is an awesome location! However, over the last 10 years of visiting the food has continually declined and the service is to the point where we will likely not return next year. :( We really should not have gone back this year - but you really can't beat the location. This year the service was so bad it took 2 hours to have wings, beer and nachos. REALLY?!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matzner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice outdoor dining”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Patio dining was pleasant, although if you want things quiet you won't find it so much because it's in the heart of activities. I ordered the fish and chips -chose sweet potato fries for my "chips" and they were good, my son chose the hand made chips and they were so-so. the fish was good, coleslaw also good, with a different type of dressing. Filling meal, average cost. Overall not bad. Lots of beer choices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacGregor's Grill & Tap Room also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to MacGregor's Grill & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing