We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch and gelato”
Review of Muar House Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Muar House Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch and gelato”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to eat lunch in Canandaigua, especially as Inn on the Lake has gone downhill. The lunch is consistently delicious no matter what I order, and the gelato is awesome. Great location too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmicaccident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday party, 2nd floor”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went to a fantastic kids bday party on the second floor. Who knew it would be such a great venue. The coffee was fresh and fantastic, the gelato was amazing and the food was tasty! The building and facilities are maticulously clean, hip and inviting. The staff were friendly and overly accommodating!!! What an asset to Canandaigua and the lake front!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caidkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Place for a Light Meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went there for lunch on the weekend. We ordered a 3-cheese grilled cheese sandwich and a turkey spinach sandwich. Both were excellent. They were perfectly grilled with the bread being a nice, light-medium brown -- no burning at all. They were seasoned nicely and just yummy. Unfortunately, they were so generous that we didn't have room for ice cream which we really wanted to try. The only minus was that service was extremely slow. It was about 1:30 when we got there and the place wasn't even half full. Still it took a good 25 minutes to get our sandwiches. But given that it was a nice day and we had nothing else we had to do, that wasn't so awful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoggeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We've visited the Muar House many times, usually for a nice lite lunch or dinner. We usually eat outside, either on the deck or at one of the nearby picnic tables overlooking the lake. Love the paninis and the gelato is pretty good, too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Casual fare with fun atmosphere”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate breakfast at Muar House Cafe overlooking the lake on a rainy morning. The cafe was just open and when we walked in, we weren't sure that the cafe was going to have much in terms of breakfast. When you enter, the focus is clearly on their gelato made in house. While there were only a handful of breakfast options, there were delicious and unique choices. We had oatmeal and a breakfast panini and were told to take a seat. The cafe is very casual and since the oatmeal was from a package, I expected the sandwich to come out in a paper wrap and the oatmeal cooked in the packaging. Instead, much to our delight, the sandwich was beautifully toasted served on a plate and the oatmeal in a bowl. Instantly, it was transformed into a fun funky cafe. The view is lovely from the dining area and there is fun art on the walls. The woman who served us was delightful and it turned out to be a perfect breakfast spot! The gelato looked delicious too. We didn't taste it since it was breakfast time, but we will go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriangleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muar House Cafe also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing