We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Replace the tub/shower-MOLD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Replace the tub/shower-MOLD”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our room was rustic with a built in tv, DVD player and fireplace. The king size bed was large and comfortable. I slept like a queen! The view of Canandaigua Lake (10 miles away) was nice. The bathroom was fine except for the bathtub/shower. The drywall on the outside of the tub was rotten and moldy. The tub surround caulk was black with mold. Tub/shower and shower curtain needed to be replaced years ago. Very disappointing because the rest of the hotel was beautiful.

The restaurant was excellent! Food, service and atmosphere were top notch! Not much to do during the winter as the pool and hot tub were outside. We plan to return again for dinner with friends next month. Probably won't stay over night again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have a great view but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    74
    29
    22
    12
See reviews for
47
89
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Been going to Bristol Harbour for 6 years now for a golf weekend with a group of 20 friends. I feel after 6 times around at Bristol I can give an honest, valued opinion of the resort. And obviously if I've been back 6 times it is all good! From the beautiful location, to phenomenal golf course, to the great staff, atmosphere, this place is of great value for the price you pay. If this place was in the Muskoka's (in Canada) it would be minimum, double the price. I can't believe people complain it is too pricey. Having only been there in May for my golf trip I finally wanted to see if it is as good in the winter, so I brought my family there for a few days for 2010 New Year's eve. And its as good then as it is when I'm golfing. Will be back for 2011 New Year's Eve with more friends. So don't believe the negative press. The value you get is top notch. Never had an issue with anything. And I encourage, if you are a golfer, to spend a weekend there. Its worth every penny. The hotel is great. Will be trying the on site cottages this New Years eve and look forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Spent one night at Bristol Harbor Inn. For the price of our room, my husband and I thought we were going to get a super luxurious experience. The views were great from the main hotel rooms but that's about all this hotel had to offer. The food at dinner was overcooked and made me sick enough to rush back to my room for medicine. The bed was so uncomfortable that I woke up with a sore back and shoulders the next day. The worst of it all was when we moved to another hotel near the airport, we opened the soap dish and found dead bed bugs stuck to our soap which had been closed up since we left Bristol Harbor. Needless to say, we were completely grossed out and we immediately had to take showers and wash our hair for fear we had more in our clothes and on us. The front desk closes nightly and they were unprofessionally dressed and did not treat us as we felt they should have for such a "high end" resort. The least they could have done was stand up and look us in the eye when they welcomed us.

Overall, would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

For the most part very enjoyable. Beautiful location, beautiful views, excellent food, great wine selection, great golf, spacious comfortable bedrooms with a balcony & Adirondack chairs, friendly staff.
But if they claim to be a resort and charge the prices they do they need to go the extra mile. The problems I noticed:
The front desk closed at 10:00 PM and opened at 7:00 AM. If there was a problem with your room or anything you were on your own ... at a "resort".
The outside entrances to the rooms are OK but I had puddles in front of my room on the balcony, on the 3rd floor.
There is no way to get to the 3rd floor except by stairs ... no elevator, no ramp. (I happened to have bad knees and it was a problem)
There is no way to get to the lodge/restaurant/lounge without walking in the rain. (It was raining when I was there) A resort should have covered walkways.
The biggest complaint is the shower/bathtub. It is something they must have purchased from Motel 6 ... used. It is the cheapest and smallest shower/bathtub I have ever seen in a "resort" including cheap fixtures and cheap shower curtains. It was so small that no matter which way you turned in the shower the curtain would stick to you. The joints of the tub kit were moldy. This type of shower is only found at bargain motels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent one night at this location at the end of a week-long wine country tour. It was disappointing to find this resort the least enjoyable because it was the most expensive. The room was large and the beds almost fit the frames. The bathroom was also large but the tub was not clean; no one would want to take an actual bath in it. The toilet paper was low grade, public restroom quality. I had to unplug the fridge to plug in the coffeemaker. The condiments for the coffee was all powdered creamer and limited in quantity. There was no hair dryer in the room, although it was listed as available. The computer at the front desk was for customer use but it was slow and old. It took a reboot to get our boarding passes printed. We asked for a discount and was told that it had been applied but at checkout, the discount disappeared. We got it back but it was grudgingly done. Would not recommend this resort to non-golfers. It's not worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agar-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGOR, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The resort was very nice! The view was fabulous!!! The service was good. It was very pricey for what you get. They had several weddings going on while we were there & thought it may be a problem with the noise but we never heard a thing! The lake is beautiful. The area is nice but pricey. Definitely recommend Simply Crepes for dining in Canandagua & F. Olivers for oil & vinegar to take home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVNTRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Golf, food , accommodations & staff are wonderful! A beautiful, serene setting overlooking the lake. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
8.9 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
391 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
9.6 mi away
Miami Resort Motel
Miami Resort Motel
#1 of 12 in Canandaigua
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
178 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club

Property: Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club
Address: 5410 Seneca Point Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-8949
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol Harbour Lodge and Golf Club is a premier golf resort, hotel and restaurant in the heart of the NY Finger Lakes region. Overlooking Canandaigua Lake atop the Bristol Mountains, this upscale golf hotel is less than a mile from both Heron Hill Winery and the lake's beach, and 7.6 miles from the Bristol Mountain ski resort. Rustic-chic rooms have en suite bathrooms with heated floors, and feature free WiFi, flat-screens, fireplaces and patios/balconies with lake views. A suite adds a living area, a kitchenette and a whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bristol Harbour Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Harbour Hotel Canandaigua
Bristol Harbour Canandaigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing