We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent dinner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake

Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the northern shores of Canandaigua Lake, we proudly offer a menu that features Certified Angus Beef, Seafood, and Pasta. Drink selections include Finger Lakes wines, locally brewed beer and locally roasted coffee. At Nolan’s, you will enjoy dining on fine food in a relaxed atmosphere at an affordable price. Voted 2011 “Best New Restaurant” in Ontario County.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another excellent dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We had dined at the old location several times, including having our son's wedding rehearsal dinner there, and never had a poor meal. We were finally able to get to the new location, and were not disappointed. The food (Asiago Scallops & Cedar Plank Salmon) and service were both excellent, & they have done a nice job with the renovation. One of our favorite places, and we will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    183
    61
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'm being generous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The new location holds none of the appeal of the former place which is why I generally went to Nolans in the past. That being said, the food at Nolans has always been pretty average/fair but I had primarily been there for lunch versus dinner. I was very underwelmed with the veal parm entre I ordered. Server was efficient and nice but that can't make up for poor food quality and little ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank METS1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better Than Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just enjoyed a great dinner with my sister's at the new Nolan's. Their new location is awesome, upscale look, with hometown atmosphere. The deck is roomy. The food is just as good as it always was. Great place for anytime! We will be sending our B&B guests there without any worries!!!! Great Job! So glad your back open again! M&P

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staychalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“ehh….over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The service was very slow and we thought the Ahi Tuna was way over cooked. Not too impressed with this place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place in town for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

In a town not known for good dinner spots, this is it. Recently relocated, the renovation was great. They offer outside patio seating, a sun room, high-tops in the bar and a main dining room. I sat in the main room, even though there was a really large party (25-30) in there. No
Worries, my server Brita was super. I like the menu- many choices plus a lighter fare option. Deserts are made in-house. Very good food, atmosphere and service. What's not to like?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing