We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden gem!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Ella's suite. It has a beautiful, comfortable queen size bed, three large windows to view the property and scenery. Ella's room also has a over sized whirlpool tub for 1 as well as a separate bathroom with shower. It has a small TV (not that we used it), radio, desk & chairs....beautifully decorated! We woke to coffee and an awesome very filling breakfast including two types of fruit, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, juice, tea.....We stayed in April and the grounds were still picturesque. We were able to feed the two horses, walk around the beautiful, clean pond, sit on the porch and sip coffee! It is just a few minutes off the busy path of canandaigua, we had privacy and were just a short drive to many restaurants and wineries. Jeri and Nick could not have been nicer. It is obvious that they really are called to be inn keepers. We will be back for sure as soon as we can. Do not judge this inn by the few reviews....it is simply a hidden perfect gem. We really can't say enough about this experience. I would give them 10 stars if I could.

Room Tip: Ella's room is large with a private whirlpool tub and separate bathroom. The other two rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msteffen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful B&B. Nick and Jeri could not be any more accomidating. The home and grounds are beautiful! Not to be missed and only a short drive from Rochester!
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you need a place to relax and be taken care of this is the place to go. The Ella Bella Bed & Breakfast has charm, warmth and a clear sense of family. Jeri treats you like royalty with everything she does. From the accomadations to the food to the beautiful park like surroundings, you couldn't ask for a better setting to be in. She will help you plan your visit with many interesting places to go or you can enjoy resting by the pond and taking in the scenery with the horses out in the pasture. I highly recommend the Bella Ella. You will be truly blessed!

Room Tip: Ella's room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bella Ella Bed and Breakfast for two nights this past March and had a WONDERFUL time. The house is beautifully decorated with family heirlooms and antiques. You couldn’t ask for nicer people than Nick and Jeri Costello as your innkeepers. They were very warm, inviting, friendly, and accommodating to any requests (not that we had many, everything was practically perfect!). We stayed in the Shenandoah Room, which does come with a private bathroom although it is located in the hall and not in the room itself (totally not a problem for us). The downstairs common area is tastefully furnished, with a woodstove in the corner that kept the house at a warm and cozy temperature!

Breakfasts were served in the country dining room in individual large portions, and everything was delicious! One morning we had French toast with fresh melon and bacon, and the next morning we had pancakes (with warm syrup and strawberry compote) along with sausage and fresh fruit! There was also plenty of coffee, tea, and orange juice to go around. We definitely noticed the personal touch that Jeri put into the food – the fresh honeydew was even stamped out in the shape of hearts!

The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the place almost has the feel of a tranquil nature preserve! There is a pond out back with a dock and various benches and chairs to enjoy the quiet evenings, and there is also a fire pit! Nick and Jeri also own two horses, who were very friendly, and Nick will even let you feed them carrots and apples! They also own a cat and a dog although they are not allowed in the guest areas of the house. There are also plenty of birdhouses located throughout the area for their fine-feathered friends.

We had visited several wineries in the Finger Lakes region during our stay and had purchased a few cases of wine. We had planned on spending a night in Niagara Falls (Canadian side) after leaving the Bella Ella. We had found out that if you take more than 1.5L of wine across the border, the Canadian government would tax you twice – both crossing into Canada and then again on the way back into the U.S. We tried to find out if there were any storage lockers in the Buffalo or Niagara NY area (bus terminals, tourist centers, etc) to store our wine for one night, but did not have any luck. Upon hearing our dilemma, Nick offered to let us keep the wine at the house overnight and we could pick it up the next day on our way back from Canada! We know that Nick did not have to offer us that option, and we were grateful that he did!

The Bella Ella is a wonderful place to spend the evenings if you are in the Canandaigua area! It was still a little cold while we were there in late March, but we can imagine ourselves going back and spending some time there in the summer, basking in the glow of a gorgeous sunset while sitting next to the pond, wine glass in hand with a nice roaring fire going in the fire pit. This place is not to be missed; we highly recommend it for your travels! Thank you so much, Nick and Jeri, we will definitely be looking you guys up when we find ourselves back in the area! You helped make our stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: Ella's Room is the star of the house, with a fireplace, whirlpool, and private in-suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I visited the Bella Ella over President's Weekend. We were hoping to do some cross-country skiing, but no snow. The great thing about the Finger Lakes area is that if there is no snow, there are always wineries. We found the wineries around lake Canandaigua and the town itself to be interesting and unique. Besides being a beautiful B & B, the hosts, Geri and Nick, could not have been nicer! We were very impressed with the generous, delicious breakfasts. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ella's room has a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrycomfortgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Bella Ella B&B was the most enjoyable Bed and Breakfasts I've visited! From the romantic rooms and the impeccable cleanliness and detailed warmth and charm of the whole souroundings was a wonderful refreshing experience! The breakfasts was served at the time we requested and was prepared for a king! We also enjoyed the recreational pond on site and went swimming and enjoyed a bonfire at the pond at sundown! Thank you for your sought after service and for providing us with such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ella's room is the romatic ,included ...fireplace , jet tub. beautiful lace valanced bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had the pleasure to stay at the Bella Ella for four nights recently. What a fantastic and comfy inn! Both Jeri and Nick go out of their way to make you feel special. The grounds of the B & B are gorgeous including horses and a lovely pond you can swim in. Each morning Jeri cooked me a different breakfast and Nick would join me for a chat since I was traveling alone. I would not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, I am already planning a trip back for next year! Do yourself a favor and choose this place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacharybloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canandaigua hotels
4.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
383 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.6 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
540 reviews
5.1 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
235 reviews
4.4 mi away
1837 Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2300 Brickyard Rd, Canandaigua, NY 14424-7975
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1889 Country Bed & Breakfast is minutes from Canandaigua Lake! Three rooms, all private baths, flat screens with DVD libraries. Recreational pond on site includes paddle boating and kayaking! Relax and enjoy your breakfast in the candlelit dining room. Walking distance to 18 hole golf course with discounts for all Bella Ella B&B patrons! Hearty breakfast served daily. Thank you for letting The Bella Ella serve you! Free kayaking on Canandaigua Lake for all patrons. Enjoy your vacation to the fullest! See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bella Ella Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing