We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”

Red Door Inn of Canandaigua B & B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Door Inn of Canandaigua B & B
Ranked #9 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I recently satyed at The Red Door Inn for 3 nights to celebrate out Anniversary. We stayed in the Carson room and could not have been more pleased. The house was beautifuly decorated. Our hosts Kevin and Kathryn made us feel very welcome and relaxed, very attentive and out going. We had great conversations at breakfast each morning. They were very flexible with the time for breakfast so we did not feel pressured to be down a specific time. Breakfasts were very delicious and filling, starting with fresh fruit and pastries served on a plate that said Happy Anniversary ( nice touch) then to the main course from waffles to eggs benedict to omlettes all with fresh ingredients and expertly prepared. The Inn is perfectly located close to shopping an the lake. Recommendations for dinner from our hosts were wonderful the best of course being Eric's Office which is right down the street. Our experience at The Red Door Inn really made our anniversary weekend extra special. We would highly recommend staying there and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

By chance my wife made reservations at a B&B knowing I am not crazy about these kind of places. What a beautiful 100 year old house with all the modern stuff you could want and the owners Kevin and Katheryn Carson, people you seem to know all your life are the most caring and out going couple you want to meet. The rooms and bathrooms made our stay, The bathroom we had was bigger than my kitchen at home. There always seem to be an open bottle of wine at the bar or some kind of home made desert or ordurve. Breakfast was big enough to last through lunch and there were diner restaurants with in walking distance so we did not have to drive and also one evening Katheryn and Kevin went out to diner with us. Beautiful place and beautiful weekend.

Room Tip: The two rooms facing the front are unbeliveable, check the web site; thereddoorinn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coachtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The house is beautifully restored. It is very quaint.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jclaydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Staying at The Red Door Inn at Canandaigua for a relaxing romantic weekend getaway was perfect. Within walking distance of Sonnenberg Gardens, and 2 miles from the Lake the location was ideal. Hosts were gracious, friendly,informative and welcoming; and even ready to share a glass of wine and fine conversation at the end of the day sightseeing. Breakfast is delicious and well organized, with opportunity for interesting conversation with the other guests. Lovely porch areas outside and inside the house provided peaceful relaxing havens with refreshments and coffee/tea. House is elegant and charming, well organized with great attention to detail for guests' comfort. Room was very comfortable and clean with modern bathroom. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rumbarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

First of all check in was easy as we were greeted by Kevin ( one of the owners ) we were escorted right to our room and given a tour. Our room was perfect, the spacious bedroom with luxurious bathroom. The attention to detail and craftsmanship flowed from room to room thoughout the house. Going out was easy you are minutes from the center of town and if you are looking for an activity or a place to eat Kevin and Kathy are happy to recommend. The hardest part was leaving, after a home cooked breakfast and some good conversation it felt like we were saying good bye to old friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beernut18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn for his birthday, (his first B&B experience) we had the most romantic, enjoyable, wonderful time! From the moment we arrived Kevin & Kathy made us feel at home. We sat and chatted and drank wine by the fire with them for a couple of hours. They were very hospitable beyond our expectations! We had the best room at the inn - The Carson and we thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi and shower, absolutely beautiful room and bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and the candlelight and music were the perfect touches. Would definitely recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a lottle romance and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kristen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My friends and I stayed at the Red Door for a wonderful Autumn weekend. Fall foliage, Golf and a tour of Keuka Lake wineries made our weekend complete but the most memorable part of trip was our time at the Inn. Sitting by the fireplace, a glass of Finger Lakes wine in hand, enjoying the music and exchanging stories with the Inn Keepers.

A true labor of love, the Before and After pictures show the restoration work that has been done so far. Everything from the Entrance way to the Dining room, Sitting rooms and Bedrooms, not to mention the owners, give you a warm warm Welcome...

We enjoyed our stay so much that we started planning a return visit (for Cross-Country skiing) before we checked-out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CBWBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canandaigua
2.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Farmington
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Morgan Samuels Inn
Morgan Samuels Inn
#5 of 15 in Canandaigua
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Door Inn of Canandaigua B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Door Inn of Canandaigua B & B

Property: Red Door Inn of Canandaigua B & B
Address: 439 N Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1038
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Door Inn of Canandaigua B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing